The Bootleg Series 5: Live 1975

The Bootleg Series 5: Live 1975

by Bob DylanBob Dylan

CD(Limited Edition)

$18.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Bob Dylan's Rolling Thunder Revue has long been one of rock's most-discussed spectacles, with its traveling-circus atmosphere and remarkably diverse array of musical participants. But while bootleggers have had their way with it, the tour was barely acknowledged by those responsible for preserving Dylan's live legacy in official form. This generously proportioned two-disc set captures Dylan at his most mercurial, veering from raging songs of protest (a steely, spitting version of "Hurricane," which was, at that point, unreleased) to pastoral interludes of beauty (highlighted by a passel of duets with Joan Baez, including a lovely rendition of the traditional "The Water Is Wide"). Dylan's constant quest to reinvent himself -- or at least his songs -- is in full evidence here, in the grand-scale presentation of the early high-water mark "The Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll" and the woozy, sea-chantey take on "A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall" (replete with storefront-church call-and-response vocals). Baez isn't the only Thunder-er to shine: "It Ain't Me, Babe" benefits from the Technicolor guitar splashes provided by Mick Ronson -- an unlikely but ideal foil for Dylan's stark performance style. "Tonight I'll Be Staying Here with You," on the other hand, takes on a whole new personality, thanks to Dylan's aggressive delivery, which makes the sentiment sound more like a jut-jawed threat than a sensual promise. Like all the previous offerings in the Bootleg Series, this is a fascinating, unflaggingly revealing snapshot of an artist who seldom stands still long enough for anyone to capture an image for posterity.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/26/2002
Label: Sony
UPC: 0696998704725
catalogNumber: 87047
Rank: 38791


Disc 1

  1. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You
  2. It Ain't Me, Babe
  3. A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
  4. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
  5. Romance In Durango
  6. Isis
  7. Mr. Tambourine Man
  8. Simple Twist Of Fate
  9. Blowin' In The Wind
  10. Mama, You Been On My Mind
  11. I Shall Be Released

Disc 2

  1. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  2. Love Minus Zero/No Limit
  3. Tangled Up In Blue
  4. The Water Is Wide
  5. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
  6. Oh, Sister
  7. Hurricane
  8. One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
  9. Sara
  10. Just Like A Woman
  11. Knockin' On Heaven's Door

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bob Dylan   Primary Artist
Joan Baez   Guitar,Vocals
Bob Dylan   Guitar,Vocals
Bob Neuwirth   Guitar,Vocals
Scarlet Rivera   Violin
Mick Ronson   Guitar
Rob Stoner   Bass
Steven Soles   Guitar,Vocals
David Mansfield   Dobro,Mandolin,Violin,Steel Guitar
Roger McGuinn   Guitar,Vocals
Luther Rix   Percussion,Conga,Drums
Howie Wyeth   Piano,Drums

Technical Credits

Bob Dylan   Composer
Steven Berkowitz   Producer
Jeff Rosen   Producer
Geoff Gans   Art Direction
James L. Hunter   Graphic Design
Triana DOrazio   Package Manager

Customer Reviews