The Book of Chet

The Book of Chet

by Luciana SouzaLuciana Souza


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Brazilian vocalist Luciana Souza pays tribute to legendary trumpeter/singer Chet Baker on her 2013 album The Book of Chet. The third album Souza has recorded with husband and producer Larry Klein, The Book of Chet also features guitarist Larry Koonse, bassist David Piltch, and drummer Jay Bellerose. Interestingly, while Souza has picked a handful of songs that will certainly will be recognizable to longtime Baker fanatics, these are definitely lesser known standards from Baker's catalog. Subsequently, there is no "My Funny Valentine" or "There Will Never Be Another You," and instead Souza delves into evocative versions of "Forgetful," "He Was Too Good to Me," "The Touch of Your Lips," and others. These are intimate, reflective recordings that capture Baker's laid-back melodicism.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/28/2012
Label: Sunnyside
UPC: 0016728131629
catalogNumber: 1316
Rank: 69382

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Luciana Souza   Primary Artist
Larry Koonse   Guitar
David Piltch   Acoustic Bass
Jay Bellerose   Percussion,Drums

Technical Credits

Bing Crosby   Composer
Hoagy Carmichael   Composer
George Handy   Composer
Ray Noble   Composer
Richard Rodgers   Composer
Lew Brown   Composer
Johnny Burke   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
J. Fred Coots   Composer
Haven Gillespie   Composer
Lorenz Hart   Composer
Ray Henderson   Composer
Larry Klein   Producer
Jule Styne   Composer
James Van Heusen   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
Victor Young   Composer
Jack Segal   Composer
Kiko Farkas   Art Direction
Helik Hadar   Engineer

Customer Reviews