The Bocephus Box [Curb]

The Bocephus Box [Curb]

by Hank Williams Jr.Hank Williams Jr.




The years covered on Curb's The Bocephus Box (1979-1999) are the 20 years where Hank Jr. was an American icon, the larger-than-life rowdy man of country. His rise began in the early '80s, when he hit upon a terrific blend of honky tonk, Southern rock, blues, and country that appealed to rock and country audiences alike -- rednecks of all persuasions, as less charitable critics would say. Throughout the '80s, he ruled the country charts, as every single one of his new albums went gold. For some observers, he slipped into self-parody halfway through that reign, but as this three-disc box set proves, the best of his music was remarkably consistent. Yes, the individual albums sagged somewhat (especially in the mid-'90s), but he remained true to his vision and had a good choice of material, whether it was newly written songs or rock covers. Early on in The Bocephus Box, it dawns on you that while some have replicated his style -- and while he has spent a long time working the same ground -- nobody really did this rowdy, rockin' country before Hank, and nobody has done it better since. Country purists may deny it, but he was a distinctive stylist, and while he got a little silly even when he was good, he usually delivered, especially in a concentrated setting like this. During those two decades, he released an album almost every year, which were distilled to 65 songs and three discs with almost no duds -- which means he must have been doing something right. For doubters and fans alike, this is the place to really absorb Hank Jr. at the height of his powers.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/29/2000
Label: Curb Records
UPC: 0715187794023
catalogNumber: 77940


Disc 1

  1. A Country Boy Can Survive
  2. Family Tradition
  3. To Love Somebody
  4. Old Flame, New Fire
  5. Only Daddy That'll Walk the Line
  6. I've Got Rights
  7. I Just Ain't Been Able
  8. Whiskey Bent and Hell Bound
  9. Outlaw Women
  10. (I Don't Have) Anymore Love Songs
  11. O.D.'D in Denver
  12. Come and Go Blues
  13. The Conversation
  14. Old Habits
  15. Kaw-Liga
  16. If You Don't Like Hank Williams
  17. Dixie on My Mind
  18. Texas Women
  19. Ramblin' Man
  20. Waitin' on the Tables to Turn
  21. A Country Boy Can Survive
  22. Born to Boogie
  23. Honky Tonk Women

Disc 2

  1. All My Rowdy Friends (Have Settled Down)
  2. I've Been Down
  3. La Grange
  4. Leave Them Boys Alone
  5. Blue Jean Blues
  6. Midnight Rider
  7. Now I Know How George Feels
  8. All My Rowdy Friends Are Coming over Tonight
  9. Major Moves
  10. Ain't Misbehavin'
  11. Lawyers, Guns and Money
  12. This Ain't Dallas
  13. Two Old Cats Like Us
  14. Country State of Mind
  15. Mind Your Own Business
  16. Secret Agent Man
  17. Wild Dogs
  18. My Name Is Bocephus
  19. Workin' for Mca
  20. I Really Like Girls/Rock & Roll Music
  21. House of the Rising Sun
  22. The Blues Man

Disc 3

  1. Keep Your Hands to Yourself
  2. Walk This Way
  3. Heaven Can't Be Found
  4. Thanks a Lot
  5. All My Rowdy Friends (Have Settled Down) (Solo)
  6. A Country Boy Can Survive
  7. You're Gonna Be a Sorry Man
  8. Tuesday's Gone
  9. Mannish Boy
  10. Finders Are Keepers
  11. There's a Tear in My Beer
  12. Big Mamou
  13. Man to Man
  14. Stoned at the Jukebox
  15. 'Tain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do
  16. Lone Wolf
  17. If It Will It Will
  18. Hotel Whiskey
  19. Low Down Blues
  20. Naked Women and Beer

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Hank Williams   Primary Artist
Chad Brock   Track Performer

Technical Credits

Barry Beckett   Producer
Jimmy Bowen   Producer
Buddy Cannon   Producer
Phil Gernhard   Producer
Porter Grainger   Composer
Jim Ed Norman   Producer
Ray Ruff   Producer
Billy Sherrill   Producer
James Stroud   Producer
Hank Williams   Composer
Hank Williams   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Norro Wilson   Producer
Jimmy Guterman   Liner Notes
Glenn Sweitzer   Art Direction
Robert Prince   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Roger Alan Wade   Composer

Customer Reviews