The Blues Rolls On

The Blues Rolls On

by Elvin Bishop


$14.69 $16.99 Save 14% Current price is $14.69, Original price is $16.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, November 27


Bishop hops labels once again, this time to the relatively young and scrappy Delta Groove imprint, while calling up some names in his obviously well-stocked Rolodex to assist on his first predominately studio album in three years. Like most guest studded affairs, this is an inconsistent but enjoyable romp. It also works as a career recap of sorts with Bishop revisiting "Yonder's Wall," a tune from his Butterfield Blues Band days (with Ronnie Baker Brooks and Tommy Castro), along with the Southern styled party sound that proved so commercially viable during his '70s Capricorn affiliation, in addition to other covers. He strips things down for a solo musical life history in "Oklahoma," an electric, educational traipse through his back pages from his early years in the titular state, set against stark, distorted boogie guitar. He taps the youngsters in the Homemade Jamz Blues Band, another Delta Groove signing, for a cool grooving version of Junior Wells' "Come On in This House," and features John Nemeth on vocals for three tracks and harp on the closing midtempo Jimmy Reed instrumental "Honest I Do," apparently the first blues song a young Bishop heard on his transistor radio as a child in Oklahoma. Fellow boogie man George Thorogood squares off with Bishop and takes lead vocals for a frolic through Hound Dog Taylor's "Send You Back to Georgia," and Bishop references his Capricorn days with current Allman Brothers Band guitarists Derek Trucks and Warren Haynes on a reworked "Struttin' My Stuff." B.B. King stops by for a short interview that leads into a jazzy, swinging cover of Roy Milton's "Keep a Dollar in Your Pocket," a song King was familiar with from his old Memphis DJ days. R.C. Carrier and Andre Thierry shift the proceedings to a bluesy, zippy zydeco on "Black Gal." As you can see, the album is pieced together from a variety of sessions in different locations, resulting in a patchwork set that, despite many excellent and above all enthusiastic performances, never quite gels. Like the collage of pictures on the back cover, this is more a scrapbook of Bishop playing with his pals and acquaintances than a focused project, but there is enough quality music here to attract established fans, even if this isn't the place to generate new ones.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/23/2008
Label: Delta Groove Prod
UPC: 0850021001285
catalogNumber: 126
Rank: 84432

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Elvin Bishop   Primary Artist,Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar
James Cotton   Harmonica
George Thorogood   Guitar,Vocals
Kim Wilson   Harmonica
Warren Haynes   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Don Baldwin   Drums
Tommy Castro   Guitar
Bobby Cochran   Drums
Keith Crossan   Tenor Saxophone
Ruth Davies   Bass
Mike Duke   Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Ed Earley   Percussion,Trombone,Background Vocals
Terry Hanck   Tenor Saxophone
Harold Jones   Drums
B.B. King   Guitar
Chris Sandoval   Drums
Jeff Simon   Drums
Angela Strehli   Vocals,Background Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Derek Trucks   Guitar
Larry Vann   Percussion
Paul Revelli   Drums
Ronnie Baker Brooks   Guitar,Vocals
Donny Baldwin   Drums
Scott Sutherland   Bass
Mike Schermer   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar,Soloist
Timm Walker   Bass,Guitar
Mike Emerson   Organ
Chris Burns   Piano
Kid Andersen   Guitar,Soloist
John Nemeth   Harmonica,Vocals
Ryan Perry   Guitar,Vocals
Kyle Perry   Bass
Taya Perry   Drums
R.C. Carrier   Vocals,Rubboard
André Thierry   Accordion
Timm Walker   Guitar
Taya Perry   Drums
Ryan Perry   Guitar,Vocals
Rich Kerch   Guitar
Jim Suler   Guitar
Tom Poole   Trumpet
Johnny "V" Vernazza   Guitar

Technical Credits

Clifton Chenier   Composer
Elvin Bishop   Composer,Producer,Audio Production
Smokey Robinson   Composer
Philip Aaberg   Composer
Shawn Berman   Engineer
Randy Chortkoff   Executive Producer
Berry Gordy   Composer
Steve Savage   Engineer
Dick Shurman   Liner Notes
Stuart Sullivan   Engineer
Gary Vincent   Producer,Engineer,Audio Production
James Clark   Composer
Jim Hanft   Artwork
Joshua Temkin   Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews