The Black Series: Vol.2

The Black Series: Vol.2

by Cornell Woolrich

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The six novels of Cornell Woolrich's famous Black Series—The Bride Wore Black (1940), The Black Curtain (1941), Black Alibi (1942), The Black Angel (1943), The Black Path of Fear (1944) and Rendezvous in Black (1948)—are the pinnacle of the era's noir crime fiction writing. At a time when the world was embroiled in war, crime fiction like Woolrich's provided an escape from the horrors of the real world into horrors of a more artistic kind. As such, Woolrich carefully crafted each of these novels to instill a deep and overwhelming sense of dread in both his characters and in the reader. Fear of the dark, fear of unseen forces, and fear of forces outside one's control dominate these nail-biting suspense thrillers for which the author is so well known.

Volume II of the Black Series features the male protagonists of The Black Curtain, The Black Path of Fear and Rendezvous in Black. The Black Curtain tells of a man who returns home after an accident only to discover that he's been accused of murder. The only problem is, he doesn't remember the last three years of his life. On the run from American gangsters in The Black Path of Fear, a man who eloped with one of the gangsters' wives to Havana is now being framed for the woman's murder. Rendezvous in Black, Woolrich's final novel of the series, mirrors The Bride Wore Black with a male protagonist who, every night on the same year, takes revenge on anyone in his path for the accident that killed his bride-to-be.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161338995
Publisher: Renaissance Literary & Talent
Publication date: 01/08/2019
Series: The Black Series , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 432,516
File size: 932 KB

About the Author

Cornell Woolrich (1903-1968) was an American author most famous for his crime fiction. He published his first book in 1926. His first six novels were considered Jazz Age novels in the style of F. Scott Fitzgerald. His crime novels written between 1940 and 1948 are considered his best works, including Waltz into Darkness, The Bride Wore Black and It Had to be Murder, many of which were later adapted into films by directors such as Hitchcock and Truffaut.

Customer Reviews