The Birth of Surf

The Birth of Surf


$13.29 $13.99 Save 5% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $13.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, February 27
2 New & Used Starting at $14.05


Although it's called The Birth of Surf, this 26-track compilation could actually be titled The Best of Surf. It includes all three of the major instrumental surf hits of the early '60s (there really were only three!) -- the Surfaris' "Wipe Out," the Chantays' "Pipeline," and the Pyramids' "Penetration" -- as well as a big wave of tracks that might have only seen regional action or flopped, but have since become highly regarded by historians and collectors, like Dick Dale's "Miserlou," the Astronauts' "Baja," the Gamblers' "Moon Dawg," and the Bel-Airs' "Mr. Moto." There is also a bunch of cuts by instrumental rockers that might not have been usually (or ever) classified as surf artists, but who were mighty influential on surf music, as heard on Duane Eddy's "Ramrod," Johnny & the Hurricanes' "Crossfire," Link Wray's "Jack the Ripper," the Fireballs' "Bulldog," and the Ventures' "Walk Don't Run"-like "Lullaby of the Leaves." While the rest of the names might not be as familiar outside of surf music specialists, there are plenty of hot instrumentals here with the reverbed guitar, cool insistent beats, and mysterious melodies that were surf's trademarks. Some of those lesser-known songs are almost as good as the more famous tunes here, and nothing is mediocre. Sure, knowledgeable surf music listeners will note the absence of some superb cult favorites, many of which can be heard on other top surf comps like Cowabunga! The Surf Box, Guitar Player Presents Legends of Guitar: Surf, Vol. 1, and Rock Instrumental Classics, Vol. 5: Surf. This still makes one of the top single-disc introductions/overviews of surf music, enhanced with expert track-by-track annotation.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/26/2007
Label: Ace Records Uk
UPC: 0029667027526
catalogNumber: 1155
Rank: 38507

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Nokie Edwards   Composer
Lee Hazlewood   Composer
Dave Burke   Liner Notes
Richard Delvy   Composer
Ralph Geddes   Composer
Howard Kaylan   Composer
Nichol   Composer
Wayne Shanklin   Composer
Alan Taylor   Liner Notes,Memorabilia,Photo Courtesy
Ron Wilson   Composer
Ronald Wilson   Composer
Bob Berryhill   Composer
Pat Connolly   Composer
Jim Fuller   Composer
George Tomsco   Composer
Brian Carman   Composer
Leonard Delaney   Composer
Gerald Sanders   Composer
Jesse Sanders   Composer
Norman Sanders   Composer
Bob Spickard   Composer
Pat Vegas   Composer
Derry Weaver   Composer
Robert J. Hafner   Composer
Joe Young   Composer
Vern Acree   Composer
Bernice Petkere   Composer
Berryhill   Composer
Billy Clayton   Composer
James Fuller   Composer
Armon Frank   Composer
Traditional   Composer
John Thompson   Composer
Paul Johnston   Composer
Pat Connoly   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews