The Best Of You Can't Hear Me Callin' Bluegrass: 80 Years Of American Music

The Best Of You Can't Hear Me Callin' Bluegrass: 80 Years Of American Music


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, December 19


The Best of Can't You Hear Me Callin': Bluegrass -- 80 Years of American Music is a single-disc culled from the found CD box set of the same name that was released in October of 2004. Featuring an eclectic selection of 18 tracks, beautifully represents the vast scope of the box set. Fans of the genre will be glad to have some of the more essential tunes from the Columbia/Sony label holdings like Grandpa Jones' "Mountain Dew," the Carter Family's "Cannon Ball Blues," Flatt & Scruggs' "Don't Get Above Your Raisin'," and the Stanley Brothers' "I'm a Man of Constant Sorrow." There are more modern offerings presented as well by the likes of the O'Kanes, Patty Loveless, Ricky Skaggs, the Dixie Chicks and Edgar Meyer with Béla Fleck and Mike Marshall.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/16/2004
Label: Sony
UPC: 0827969296523
catalogNumber: 92965
Rank: 217092

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Lester Flatt   Guitar,Vocals
Earl Scruggs   Banjo
Ricky Skaggs   Guitar,Mandolin,Vocals,Background Vocals
Ralph Stanley   Banjo,Vocals
Clarence White   Guitar
Mac Wiseman   Guitar,Vocals
Roy Acuff   Fiddle,Vocals
Ray Flacke   Electric Guitar
John Hartford   Banjo,Fiddle
Chris Hillman   Mandolin
Patty Loveless   Vocals
Joe Maphis   Banjo
Edgar Meyer   Bass
Gram Parsons   Guitar
Jim Brock   Fiddle
Roy Hall   Guitar
Allen Shelton   Banjo
Rose Lee Maphis   Guitar
Chubby Wise   Fiddle
Lou Reid   Banjo,Vocal Harmony
Jesse McReynolds   Mandolin,Vocals
Molly O'Day   Banjo,Vocals
Mother Maybelle Carter   Guitar,Vocals
Red Jones   Bass
Kieran Kane   Mandolin,Vocals
Bruce Bouton   Steel Guitar
Harold Bradley   Guitar
A.P. Carter   Vocals
Sara Carter   Guitar,Vocals
Jesse Chambers   Bass
Lynn Davis   Guitar,Vocals
Ray Edenton   Rhythm Guitar
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Emory Gordy   Guitar
George Grantham   Drums
Buddy Harman   Drums
Bobby Hicks   Fiddle
Byron House   Bass
Rob Ickes   Dobro
Everett Lilly   Mandolin
Mike Marshall   Guitar
Roger McGuinn   Vocals
Jim McReynolds   Guitar,Tenor (Vocal)
Mickey Merritt   Piano
Ernie Newton   Bass
Jamie O'Hara   Guitar,Vocals
Charlie Poole   Banjo,Vocals
Carmella Ramsey   Background Vocals
Deanie Richardson   Fiddle
Carter Stanley   Guitar
Adam Steffey   Mandolin
Clarence "Tater" Tate   Bass
Roy Yeager   Drums
Roy Huskey   Bass
Rosie Ledford   Guitar
Posey Rorer   Fiddle
Tommy Magness   Fiddle
James "Jimmie" Selph   Steel Guitar
Jess Easterday   Guitar
Jody Rainwater   Bass
Jack Thompson   Bass
Bryan Sutton   Guitar
Natalie Maines   Vocals
Emily Robison   Banjo,Vocal Harmony
Richard Kane   Fiddle
Lester Woodie   Fiddle
Darrell "Pee Wee" Lambert   Mandolin
Norman Woodlief   Guitar
Cecil "Skeets" Williamson   Fiddle
James "Slim" Martin   Fiddle
Martie Maguire   Fiddle,Vocal Harmony
Buddy Dooley   Bass
Clato Buchanan   Banjo
H.E. "Aytchie" Burns   Bass
Bob Hopson   Guitar

Technical Credits

Lester Flatt   Composer
Bill Monroe   Composer
Earl Scruggs   Composer
Ricky Skaggs   Producer
Ralph Stanley   Composer
Marty Stuart   Composer
Joe Maphis   Composer
Woody Guthrie   Composer
Edgar Meyer   Producer
Dixie Chicks   Producer
Art Satherley   Producer
Kieran Kane   Composer,Producer
A.P. Carter   Composer
Lynn Davis   Arranger
Béla Fleck   Composer,Producer
Fred Foster   Producer
Gregg Geller   Producer
Emory Gordy   Producer
Don Law   Producer
Lloyd Maines   Producer
Jamie O'Hara   Producer
Charlie Poole   Composer
Ervin T. Rouse   Composer
Carter Stanley   Composer
Gary Usher   Producer
Josh Cheuse   Art Direction
Ralph Peer   Producer
Scotty Wiseman   Composer
Natalie Maines   Composer
M. Davis   Arranger
Traditional   Composer
Martie Maguire   Composer
Tom Choi   Packaging Manager

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews