The Best of the Rest: Non-Syndicated Newspaper Columnists Select Their Best Work

The Best of the Rest: Non-Syndicated Newspaper Columnists Select Their Best Work

by Sam Riley


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Best of the Rest presents the work of 77 of America's most talented local newspaper columnists from 41 states. They represent the rest because editor Sam G. Riley has excluded nationally syndicated columnists in order to expose to a wider audience many equally talented columnists whose fame generally is localized. The columnists chosen for inclusion were nominated by a nationwide panel of 100 journalism professors—two from each state. Those writers who agreed to participate either self-selected their two favorite columns or sent a larger sampling for the editor's choice. For this first such book on local columnists, Riley has concentrated on news columnists, personal or general interest columnists, and humor columnists, exempting those who write more or less exclusively on topical areas, such as sports, business and finance, fashion, or travel.

In his lively and insightful introduction, Riley identifies three main characteristics of newspaper column writing much in evidence in these selections: humanity or people-centeredness, wit, and freedom of approach. He also sketches a brief history of newspaper column writing and provides a sense of what local columnists do, offering his opinion that being a columnist is the most fun a person can legally have at a newspaper. The selection of columns makes for delightful reading and will be instructive and inspiring to journalism major students and other students of writing. A selective bibliography is included.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780313285080
Publisher: ABC-CLIO, Incorporated
Publication date: 06/30/1993
Series: Contributions to the Study of Mass Media and Communications Series , #39
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 6.14(w) x 9.21(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

SAM G. RILEY is Professor of Communication Studies at Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University. He has published dozens of scholarly articles in journals, reference books, and edited collections and has written and edited several reference books on magazine journalism, including six volumes on Southern periodicals, regional interest magazines, corporate magazines, and British consumer magazines in Greenwood Press's series Historical Guides to the World's Periodicals and Newspapers. In a lighter vein, he is the author of GR8 PL8S: The Best of America's Vanity Plates and numerous newspaper columns and feature articles.

Table of Contents


Smiley Anders

Lynn Bartels

Ben Beagle

Nancy Beeghly

Lillian Bell

Jim Belshaw

Don Bishoff

Don Boxmeyer

William A. Brower

Ken Buchanan

Dennis Byrne

Terry Carr

Steve Clark

Tom Condon

Ed Cullen

John DeMott

Mike Deupree

Mike Doogan

Melissa Dribben

Jim Fitzgerald

Guy Friddell

Tony Gabriele

T.J. Gilles

C.W. Gusewelle

Robert Haggart

Sam Hemingway

Mike Henderson

Carl Hiaasen

Rheta Grimsley Johnson

Eugene Kane

Jim Kershner

Jim Klobuchar

George Knapp

Bob Krauss

John Laird

Darrell Laurant

Mike Leonard

Charles Levendosky

Merle E. Lofgren

Dennis McCann

Dennis McCarthy

Joel McNally

Jon Margolis

Don Marsh

Cathy Mauk

Bill Maxwell

Russ Metz

E.J. Montini

Robert C. Newberry

Brian Ojampa

Rosemary Parrillo

Mark Patinkin

Mike Peters

Bob Pinkerton

Paul Prather

Doug Robarchek

Richard Roeper

Barbara T. Roessner

Ed Shamy

Celestine Sibley

Jack Smith

John L. Smith

A.C. Snow

Judy McConnell Steele

Roddy Stinson

Bill Tammeus

Tom Teepen

Susan Trausch

Elaine Viets

Kent Ward

Susan Watson

Tom Weber

Bob Wiemer

Kevin Woster

Bill Wundram

Susan G. Yerkes

Jerry Zezima

Appendix A: Newspapers and Columnist

Appendix B: The Columns Classified

Selected Bibliography

Customer Reviews