The Best Of... The Great American Songbook

The Best Of... The Great American Songbook

by Rod StewartRod Stewart
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


The Best Of The Great American Songbook presents the highlights from Rod Stewart's Grammy-winning Songbook series, recorded across eight years. In addition, this new collection features one newly recorded, never-before-released track: "You'll Never Know," produced by one of Rod's longtime collaborators Richard Perry, along with brand new mixes of "Someone To Watch Over Me" and "Bye Bye Blackbird."

Rod infuses his incomparable vocal style into iconic standards written by Rodgers and Hart, George and Ira Gershwin, and many other great composers and lyricists, including "Someone To Watch Over Me," "The Way You Look Tonight," "They Can't Take That Away From Me," and "What A Wonderful World -- featuring Stevie Wonder, and many, many more.

Clive Davis, producer of the series, reflects: "In a transient, ephemeral business, it is so gratifying to have the dual opportunity to show how long a career can last, and how these songs have a life into a new century." From the Label

Product Details

Release Date: 02/01/2011
Label: J-Records
UPC: 0886978300621
catalogNumber: 783006

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Rod Stewart   Primary Artist
Alan Broadbent   Conductor
Plas Johnson   Saxophone
Dave Koz   Tenor Saxophone
Rob Mounsey   Conductor,Keyboards
Arturo Sandoval   Trumpet
Warren Vaché   Trumpet
Anita Pointer   Background Vocals
Bob Cranshaw   Bass
Kenny Ascher   Piano
Dave Grusin   Piano
Don Sebesky   Conductor
John Ferraro   Drums
David Finck   Bass
Trey Henry   Bass
Dan Higgins   Alto Saxophone
Dorian Holley   Background Vocals
Chip Jackson   Bass
Marlena Jeter   Background Vocals
Doug Katsaros   Piano,Conductor
Randy Kerber   Piano,Synthesizer Strings
Mort Lindsey   Conductor
Bob Magnusson   Bass
Bob Mann   Guitar,Conductor
Rob Mathes   Keyboards
Reggie McBride   Bass
Jeff Mironov   Guitar
Lee Musiker   Piano
Dean Parks   Guitar
Jimi Paxson   Drums
Shawn Pelton   Drums
Philippe Saisse   Keyboards
Allan Schwartzberg   Drums
David Spinozza   Acoustic Guitar
Lee Thornburg   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Mike Thompson   Piano,Synthesizer Strings
Frank Vilardi   Drums
Doug Webb   Tenor Saxophone
Stevie Wonder   Harmonica
Jimmy Rip   Guitar
Frank Simes   Guitar
Ed Howard   Bass
Andrew Lippman   Trombone
Henry Hey   Piano
Alex Navarro   Piano,Synthesizer Strings
Aaron Kaplan   Guitar
Lauren Wild   Background Vocals
Ariana Hall   Background Vocals
Andy Chukerman   Synthesizer Pads
Angela Michael   Background Vocals
Chris Golden   Bass
Joel Hamilton   Bass
Larry Koontz   Guitar
Will Hollis   Piano,Synthesizer Vibes,Synthesizer Strings
Mortinette Jenkins   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Rod Stewart   Producer,Whistle
Alan Broadbent   Orchestral Arrangements
Rob Mounsey   String Arrangements
Vernon Duke   Composer
Charles Trénet   Composer
Jerome Kern   Composer
Sammy Cahn   Composer
Clive Davis   Producer
Don Sebesky   Arranger
Doug Epstein   Engineer
Sammy Fain   Composer
Dorothy Fields   Composer
Frank Filipetti   Engineer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Mack Gordon   Composer
Ray Henderson   Composer
Irving Kahal   Composer,Lyricist
Doug Katsaros   Arranger
Jack Lawrence   Composer
Mort Lindsey   String Arrangements
Bob Mann   Arranger,Producer
Rob Mathes   rhythm arrangement
Joel Moss   Engineer
Richard Perry   Arranger,Producer,rhythm arrangement
Phil Ramone   Producer
Jule Styne   Composer
Bob Thiele   Composer
Mike Thompson   Arranger,rhythm arrangement
Steve Tyrell   Producer
Harry Warren   Composer
Ned Washington   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
Jeffrey "Woody" Woodruff   Engineer
Schmidt   Engineer
Erwin Gorostiza   Art Direction
Josh Cheuse   Art Direction
John Swannell   Cover Photo
Carter Humphrey   Engineer
Mort Dixon   Composer
Jack Strachey   Composer
Holt Marvell   Composer
Albert Lasry   Composer
J.J. Blair   Engineer
Mark Valentine   Engineer
Lauren Wild   Arranger,Producer,rhythm arrangement
Bobby Ginsburg   Engineer
Carter William Humphrey   Engineer
Jeff Phurrough   Engineer
Victor Your   Composer
Will Hollis   Arranger
Alan Light   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews