The Best of Stan Ridgway: Songs That Made This Country Great

The Best of Stan Ridgway: Songs That Made This Country Great

by Stan Ridgway


7 New & Used Starting at $2.71


Songs That Made This Country Great recaps Stan Ridgway's career with and without Wall of Voodoo, with a few rarities thrown in to make the package appealing to collectors. The essential tracks are here, from Wall of Voodoo's "Mexican Radio" and "Ring of Fire" to solo singles like "Drive, She Said" and "Goin' Southbound." The compilers went to a lot of work licensing recordings from several labels, including "Don't Box Me In" from the Rumblefish soundtrack and "Cannon Song" from a Kurt Weill tribute album. This is an excellent collection in terms of providing Ridgway's handful of best-known recordings in one place, but a lot of excellent album tracks were omitted, making this an inadequate replacement for the original albums.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/25/1992
Label: Capitol
UPC: 0022071313926
catalogNumber: 13139

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Stan Ridgway   Primary Artist,Guitar,Harmonica,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Track Performer
Stewart Copeland   Multi Instruments,Track Performer
Wall of Voodoo   Track Performer
Bruce Fowler   Trombone
Steve Reid   Percussion,Conga
Marc Ribot   Electric Guitar
Richard Greene   Electric Violin
Fowler Brothers   Bass,Percussion,Woodwind,Track Performer
Tori Amos   Background Vocals
Joe Chemay   Background Vocals
Mark Cohen   Banjo,Mandolin
Beth Andersen   Background Vocals
Gregg Arreguin   Electric Guitar
K.K. Barrett   Drums
John Batdorf   Background Vocals
Luis Cabaza   Bass
Richard Gibbs   Emulator
Jim Haas   Background Vocals
Ken Jones   Keyboards
Jon Joyce   Background Vocals
Phil Kenzie   Saxophone
Tim Landers   Fretless Bass Guitar,Acoustic Bass
Jim Lang   Keyboards,Hammond Organ,Synthesizer Bass
Bill Noland   Keyboards
David Sutton   Bass
Eric Williams   Acoustic Guitar,Bouzouki,Electric Guitar,Ukulele,12-string Guitar
Yvonne Williams   Background Vocals
Bruce Zelesnik   Drums
Chris Becerra   Drums
Joe Berardi   Percussion,Accordion,Conga,Drums,Marimbas
John Dentino   Keyboards
Bernard Hall   Keyboards,Clavinet
Christopher   Cello
Tom Rechoin   Percussion
Louis VandenBerg   Keyboards
Louis Cabasa   Bass
Pietra Wexstun   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Jim Hill   Anvil

Technical Credits

Stewart Copeland   Producer,Contributor
Wall of Voodoo   Producer
Bruce Fowler   Arranger
William Orbit   Remixing
Fowler Brothers   Contributor
Hugh Brown   Art Direction
Joe Chiccarelli   Producer
Phil Culp   Producer
Hugh Jones   Producer
Jim Lang   drum programming
Richard Mazda   Producer
Bill Noland   Producer
Stan Ridgway   Producer
Hal Willner   Producer,Executive Producer
Louis VandenBerg   Producer
Fred Davis   Art Direction
John Telfer   Executive Producer
Paul M. Young   Producer
Jim Hill   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews