The Best of Parliament: Give Up the Funk

The Best of Parliament: Give Up the Funk

by ParliamentParliament


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


To some, boiling Parliament's legacy down to a single-disc collection is the equivalent of heresy, since most fans treat each album as an individual work of art. Still, there is no denying that Parliament was an untouchable singles act, recording some of the greatest soul/funk singles of the '70s. For those listeners that just want an introduction, or only need the hits, The Best of Parliament: Give Up the Funk is the ideal choice. A more complete and logical collection than the previous Greatest Hits (The Bomb), The Best of Parliament supplies all of the great group's greatest hits, from "Up for the Down Stroke" and "Tear the Roof off the Sucker" to "Flash Light" and "Aqua Boogie." For those that can only handle the funk in moderation, there is no better collection.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/06/1995
Label: Polygram Uk
UPC: 0731452699527
catalogNumber: 526995
Rank: 8698

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Parliament   Primary Artist
Bernie Worrell   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Michael Brecker   Horn
Eddie Hazel   Guitar,Vocals
Maceo Parker   Horn
Junie Morrison   Synthesizer,Guitar,Keyboards
Philippe Wynne   Background Vocals
Tony Thomas   Guitar
Dennis Chambers   Drums
Greg Black   Horn
Bootsy Collins   Bass,Guitar,Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Greg Boyer   Horn
Jerome Brailey   Percussion,Drums
Randy Brecker   Horn
Gary Bronson   Percussion,Drums
Linda Brown   Background Vocals
Ron Bykowski   Guitar
Jessica Cleaves   Background Vocals
George Clinton   Vocals
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Guitar
Gary "Mudbone" Cooper   Vocals
Benny Cowan   Horn
Rodney Curtis   Bass
Raymond Davis   Vocals
Ronald Dunbar   Background Vocals
Joe Farrell   Horn
Ron Ford   Background Vocals
Mallia Franklin   Background Vocals
Lawrence Fratangelo   Percussion,Drums
Ramon Tiki Fulwood   Percussion,Drums
Rick Gardner   Horn
Glen Goins   Guitar,Vocals
Richard "Kush" Griffith   Horn
Michael Hampton   Guitar
Clarence "Fuzzy" Haskins   Vocals
Larry Hatcher   Horn
Sheila Horne   Background Vocals
Taka Khan   Background Vocals
Tyrone Lampkin   Percussion,Drums
Clay Lawrey   Horn
Lynn Mabry   Background Vocals
Cordell Mosson   Bass
Sam Peake   Horn
Garry Shider   Guitar,Vocals
Dawn Silva   Background Vocals
Calvin Simon   Vocals
Carl "Butch" Small   Percussion,Drums
Grady Thomas   Vocals
Greg Thomas   Horn
Pamela Vincent   Background Vocals
Jeanette "Baby" Washington   Background Vocals
Fred Wesley   Horn
Debbie Wright   Background Vocals
Shirley Hayden   Background Vocals
Michael "Clip" Payne   Background Vocals
Cheryl James   Background Vocals
Joel "Razor Sharp" Johnson   Background Vocals
Tracey Lewis   Background Vocals
David Lee Chong   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Jeannette McGruder   Background Vocals
Darryl Dixon   Horn
Janice Evans   Background Vocals
Larry Heckstall   Background Vocals
Lonnie Greene   Percussion,Drums
Gordon Carlton   Guitar
Kenny Colton   Percussion,Drums
Donnie Sterling   Bass
Bryan Chimenti   Background Vocals
Linda Shider   Background Vocals
Blackbyrd McKnight   Bass
Prakash John   Bass

Technical Credits

Bernie Worrell   Composer
Junie Morrison   Producer
Dennis Chambers   Executive Producer
Pete Bishop   Engineer
Bootsy Collins   Composer,Producer
Jerome Brailey   Composer
George Clinton   Composer,Producer
Bobby Dennis   Engineer
Ronald Dunbar   Composer,Producer
Clarence "Fuzzy" Haskins   Composer
John Jaszcz   Engineer
Willi Morrison   Composer
Greg Reilly   Engineer
Garry Shider   Composer
Jim Vitti   Composer,Engineer
Greg Ward   Engineer
Dave Baker   Engineer
Dave Riley   Engineer
Fred Munch   Engineer
J.S. Theracon   Composer
Donnie Sterling   Composer
Jim Gallon   Engineer
Mike Lacopelli   Engineer
John Witham   Engineer

Customer Reviews