Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Best of David Sanborn

The Best of David Sanborn

The Best of David Sanborn

The Best of David Sanborn


$7.99 $10.99 Save 27% Current price is $7.99, Original price is $10.99. You Save 27%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, February 3


During the 13 years he spent recording for Warner Bros., David Sanborn had more than his share of artistic triumphs, but at times wasted his considerable talents on radio-friendly schlock. Containing more pluses than minuses, The Best of David Sanborn paints an honest picture of his jazz/R&B/pop work for that label. Sanborn's distinctive alto is a joy on both rugged, gritty jazz/R&B like "Slam" and "Anything You Want" and such lyrical and heartfelt ballads as "Rain on Christmas," "A Tear for Crystal," and "Lisa." Meanwhile, a mindless, note-for-note cover of Gladys Knight & the Pips' "Neither One of Us" exemplifies Sanborn at his radio-friendly worst. But despite the inclusion of a few stinkers, this 16-song CD isn't a bad introduction to his Warner Bros. output.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/28/2009
Label: Rhino Flashback
UPC: 0081227985158
catalogNumber: 45768
Rank: 38651


  1. Chicago Song
  2. The Dream
  3. Let's Just Say Goodbye
  4. Slam
  5. Lesley Ann
  6. Carly's Song
  7. Anything You Want
  8. A Tear for Crystal
  9. Over and Over
  10. Rain on Christmas
  11. Hideaway
  12. It's You
  13. As We Speak
  14. Lisa
  15. Neither One of Us (Wants to Be the First to Say Goodbye)
  16. Lotus Blossom

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Sanborn   Primary Artist,Electric Piano,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone,Vocals,Multi Instruments,fender rhodes
Patti Austin   Background Vocals
James Taylor   Background Vocals
Luther Vandross   Background Vocals
Hiram Bullock   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Michael Colina   Synthesizer,Strings,Polymoog,Crumar
Don Grolnick   Piano,Clavinet,fender rhodes
Omar Hakim   Drums
Stanley Jordan   Guitar
David Lasley   Background Vocals
Ricky Peterson   Electric Piano
Bernard Wright   Synthesizer
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion,Conga,Cymbals,Triangle,Multi Instruments
Nile Rodgers   Rhythm Guitar
Michael Sembello   Synthesizer,Guitar,Background Vocals
Bill Evans   Saxophone
Michael Ruff   Vocals
Tawatha Agee   Background Vocals
Ray Bardani   Percussion,Tambourine,Multi Instruments,Hand Clapping,cowbell
Herb Bushler   Bass
Lenny Castro   Percussion,Conga,Timbales,Multi Instruments
Kasey Cisyk   Background Vocals
Vinnie Colaiuta   Drums
Paulinho Da Costa   Percussion
Howard "Buzz" Feiten   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Steve Ferone   Drums
Steve Ferrone   Drums
Don Freeman   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Steve Gadd   Drums
Lani Groves   Background Vocals
Neil Jason   Bass
Yvonne Lewis   Background Vocals
Jody Linscott   Conga,cowbell
Michael Mainieri   Multi Instruments,Vibes
Rick Marotta   Drums
Hugh McCracken   Electric Guitar
Jason Miles   Synthesizer
Marcus Miller   Bass,Rhythm Guitar,Keyboards,Vocals,Background Vocals,Multi Instruments
Jeff Mironov   Acoustic Guitar
Andy Newmark   Drums
Lance Ong   Synthesizer
Valerie Simpson   Background Vocals
David Spinozza   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Randy Waldman   Keyboards
Casey Young   Synthesizer
Wayman Tisdale   Vocals
Arnold McCuller   Background Vocals
Adam Dorn   Vocals
Ava Gardner   Vocals
Mark Stevens   Background Vocals
Cliff Braithwaite   Vocals
Bibi Green   Vocals
Steve Jordan   Guitar
Bill Jones   Vocals
Mark Stevens   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Michael Colina   Producer,Executive Producer,String Arrangements
Stanley Jordan   Drum Fills
Michael Sembello   Arranger,Programming
John Simon   Producer,Executive Producer
Richard Alderson   Engineer
Ray Bardani   Producer,Engineer
Hilary Bercovici   Engineer
Paul Brown   Remixing
Michael Hutchinson   Engineer
Fred Maher   Drum Technician
Robert Margouleff   Producer
Jason Miles   Programming
Marcus Miller   Arranger,Producer,drum programming,Percussion Programming
Andy Newmark   drum programming
Matt Pierson   Producer
Marti Robertson   Engineer
Howard Siegel   Engineer
Casey Young   Programming,Synclavier Programming
Hans Neleman   Collage
Linda C. Cobb   Art Direction
Steve Jordan   Drum Fills

Customer Reviews