The Best of Blue Magic: Soulful Spell

The Best of Blue Magic: Soulful Spell

by Blue Magic



Released in 1996, The Best of Blue Magic: Soulful Spell typified the pros and cons of compiling a set from one of '70s R&B's best acts. It should be easy. During its 1972-1989 run, Blue Magic always had a fierce and devoted fan base and at least 30 essential songs to choose from. The thing that weighs this set down is the omission of quite a few of those tracks. However, the majority of what's here can't be argued with. "Sideshow," "What's Come Over Me," and "Look Me Up" are all powered by Ted Mills' uncommonly strong falsetto and Norman Harris' earthy yet ethereal productions. This set offers essential tracks from 1975's great 13 Blue Magic Lane. "Loneliest House on the Block," "Haunted By Your Love," and "Chasing Rainbows" are all suitably creepy and sweeping. If anything makes this CD less than great, it's the single edits of album favorites like "Spell," "Look Me Up," and "Chasing Rainbows." The diminishing quality of the post-1975 work doesn't help either. "Teach Me (It's Something About Love)," and "Freak-N-Stein" are as deplorable as the core tracks are sublime. The Philip Bailey co-written EWF clone, "I Waited," the retro "Land of Make-Believe," and the synth-heavy "Magic #" are all textbook flops. Fans will note that essentials like "You Don't Have to Tell Me Goodbye" and 1989's "It's Like Magic" didn't make it here. Sure, most of the work here is great, but a few key inclusions would have made it definitive.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/23/1996
Label: Rhino
UPC: 0081227220723
catalogNumber: 72207

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Blue Magic   Primary Artist,Background Vocals
Philip Bailey   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
James Ingram   Keyboards,Background Vocals
Victor Feldman   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
Phil Hurtt   Background Vocals
Bunny Sigler   Background Vocals
Dexter Wansel   Keyboards
Bob Babbitt   Bass
Spencer Bean   Guitar
Tony Bell   Guitar
Carla Benson   Background Vocals
Evette Benton   Percussion,Conga,Background Vocals,Vibes
Roland Chambers   Guitar
Charles Collins   Percussion,Conga,Drums
Robert Cupit   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
Eugene Lambchops Curry   Keyboards
Bobby Eli   Guitar
Jack Faith   Flute,Alto Saxophone
Mikki Farrow   Background Vocals
Michael Foreman   Bass
Bruce Gray   Background Vocals
Bunny Harris   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
Norman Harris   Guitar
Carl Helm   Background Vocals
Barbara Ingram   Background Vocals
Billy Ingram   Guitar,Background Vocals
Butch Ingram   Bass
John Ingram   Drums,Background Vocals
Jerry Jones   Drums
Darnell Jordan   Guitar
Carlton "Cotton" Kent   Keyboards
Ron Kersey   Keyboards
Larry LaBes   Bass
Theodore Life   Harmonica
McKay   Guitar
Ted Mills   Keyboards
Vince Montana   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
Bill Neale   Guitar
Lenny Pakula   Keyboards
Robert Russell   Bass
Lee Smith   Bass
Michael Stanton   Keyboards
Ernest Straughter   Keyboards
T.J. Tindall   Guitar
Ron Tyson   Background Vocals
Larry Washington   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
Earl Young   Drums
Erskine Williams   Keyboards
Jim DeJulio   Bass
Harry Dixon   Horn
Larry James   Drums
Ron Baker   Bass
Louis Russell   Guitar
Ted Cohen   Guitar
Robert Ingram   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
Jimmy Grant   Bass
Henri Smith   Percussion,Conga,Vibes
Travers Huff   Keyboards
Ronald Lee   Horn

Technical Credits

Keith Beaton   Contributor
Steven Burnstein   Executive Producer
Bobby Eli   Arranger,Producer
Norman Harris   Arranger,Producer
Butch Ingram   Arranger,Producer
Ron Kersey   Arranger,Producer
Vince Montana   Arranger
Gary Peterson   Discographical Annotation
Richard Pratt   Contributor
Alan Rubens   Executive Producer
Vernon Sawyer   Contributor
Wendall Sawyer   Contributor
Skip Scarborough   Arranger,Producer
Jimi Tenor   Composer
A. Scott Galloway   Liner Notes
Dave Crawford   Arranger
Walter Smith   Contributor
Bruce V. Allen   Composer
Coco Shinomiya   Art Direction
Steven Bernstein   Executive Producer
Bruce Gable   Executive Producer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews