The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories

The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories

by Ian Rankin


$5.98 $26.00 Save 77% Current price is $5.98, Original price is $26. You Save 77%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, December 10


There is no detective like Ian Rankin's Detective Inspector John Rebus, a man The New Yorker calls "the ideal sleuth."
Brilliant, irascible and frequently frustrating to both his friends and his long-suffering bosses, John Rebus has made the dark places of Edinburgh his home for over two decades. THE BEAT GOES ON collects all of Ian Rankin's Rebus short stories for the first time, including two never-before published tales written specifically for this collection. From his beginnings as a young Detective Constable right up to his dramatic, but not quite final, retirement, Rebus shines as he investigates the sinister cases that are his specialty including a gruesome student death, the brutal murder of a woman at the crux of a love triangle, and an audacious jewel heist. THE BEAT GOES ON confirms once again that DI John Rebus is "one of the great modern cops" ( Washington Post).

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780594708902
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 08/11/2015
Series: Inspector John Rebus Series
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 394,018
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.50(h) x 1.70(d)

About the Author

Ian Rankin is a #1 international bestselling author. Winner of an Edgar Award and the recipient of a Gold Dagger for fiction and the Chandler-Fulbright Award, he lives in Edinburgh, Scotland, with his wife and their two sons.


Edinburgh, London and France

Date of Birth:

April 28, 1960

Place of Birth:

Cardenden, Scotland


Edinburgh University

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Beat Goes On: The Complete Rebus Stories 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
glauver More than 1 year ago
I never collected Ian Rankin's John Rebus novels: there were just too many. When I saw this short story collection, I decided to buy it because it wasn't at the library. It did not disappoint. Rankin is the rare crime writer who is as good in the short form as his is in his novels. Many of the stories don't even involve murder. Several take place at Christmas; Rebus has a nose for nefarious Santas. Rankin writes about Edinburgh in the same way Chandler used 40s LA. Somewhere I read that he considers his writing as more Robert Louis Stevenson than crime fiction. This volume could be used as supporting evidence.