The Awakening

The Awakening

by P.O.D.P.O.D.


View All Available Formats & Editions


The ninth studio long player from the spiritually charged, cosmopolitan, San Diego-based hard rock veterans, Awakening is another musically adventurous set from the always versatile Payable on Death, and a heavy, albeit life-affirming conceptual album that follows a central protagonist navigating the inner and outer wastelands in the aftermath of a personal tragedy. Peppered with atmospheric bits of prepared media and snippets of dialogue (the brooding opener "Am I Awake" is prefaced by a veritable grocery list of the world's ills, both past and present), the ten-track set, which features guest spots from In This Moment frontwoman Maria Brink and Sick of It All frontman Lou Koller, is obviously meant to be devoured in a single sitting. Luckily, P.O.D. keep things interesting throughout the record's just-over-40-minute runtime, touching on everything from anthemic alt-rock ("This Goes Out to You") and fiery hip-hop ("Get Down") to hardcore punk ("Revolución") and soaring post-grunge ("The Awakening"). The story itself is fairly straightforward; heartache begets self-destruction and eventually redemption, but P.O.D. manages to deliver the goods with an easy, everyman prowess and just the right amount of humility and tough love to lend conviction to even the most strident narrative tropes. It also helps that they infuse each song with equal parts economy, melody, and grit, effectively laying to waste any notion that all concept albums are bloated, try-hard exercises in hubris that forget that a solidly executed song far outweighs a lofty idea.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/21/2015
Label: T-Boy Records / Ume
UPC: 0602547387653
catalogNumber: 002342802

Album Credits

Performance Credits

P.O.D.   Primary Artist
Howard Benson   fender rhodes
Sonny Sandoval   Throat,Group Member
Traa Daniels   Bass,Background Vocals,Group Member
Wuv Bernardo   Drums,Group Member
Marcos Curiel   Synthesizer,Guitar,Glockenspiel,Background Vocals,Group Member
Theodore Scott Smith   Trumpet

Technical Credits

Howard Benson   Producer
Mike Plotnikoff   Engineer
P.O.D.   Composer
Sarah Martin   Engineer
Andy Gould   Engineer
Hatsukazu "Hatch" Inagaki   Engineer
Marc VanGool   Guitar Techician
Kim Estlund   Publicity
Jon Nicholson   Drum Technician
Andrew Goodfriend   Booking
Angelica Cob-Baehler   Management
Lisa Rogell   Music Business Affairs
Jennifer Ballantyne   Publicity
Dan Devita   Booking
Lenny Skolnik   Programming
Sujata Murthy   Publicity
Nicholas C. Ferrara   Legal Advisor
Nilo Naghdi   Packaging
Justin Macchio   Management
Jonny Litten   Programming
Jesse Blanco   Management

Customer Reviews