The Austin Sessions

The Austin Sessions

by Kris KristoffersonKris Kristofferson


$9.99 $15.99 Save 38% Current price is $9.99, Original price is $15.99. You Save 38%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Better known in recent years for his acting than his music, Rhodes scholar turned country outlaw Kris Kristofferson penned songs that formed a soundtrack for the early '70s. Janis Joplin's signature tune, "Me and Bobbie McGee," was Kris's; so was Johnny Cash's grim picture of a man on the edge of life's wasteland, "Sunday Morning Coming Down." For these sessions, Kristofferson surrounded himself with friends and admirers -- Steve Earle, Mark Knopfler, Catie Curtis, Jackson Browne, and Stephen Bruton among them -- in an Austin studio to record the songs that made him famous. THE AUSTIN SESSIONS revisits his most complex work stripped down to bone and sinew. "The Pilgrim: Chapter 33" is something of an autobiography rendered in Kristofferson's trademark gravelly voice; "For the Good Times" is a hauntingly beautiful and painful vignette with harmony vocals by Matraca Berg; and the classic "Why Me?" features harmonizing by Vince Gill and Alison Krauss. Looking back on his career with some of today's top singers and songwriters, Kristofferson's THE AUSTIN SESSIONS is both heartfelt and illuminating.

Product Details

Release Date: 02/10/2017
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0081227943684
catalogNumber: 556561
Rank: 6547

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Kris Kristofferson   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Harmonica
Alison Krauss   Vocal Harmony
Matraca Berg   Vocal Harmony
Catie Curtis   Vocal Harmony
Jackson Browne   Vocal Harmony
Marc Cohn   Vocal Harmony
Steve Earle   Vocal Harmony
Mike Baird   Drums
Stephen Bruton   Acoustic Guitar,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Hi String
Jim Cox   Organ,Piano,Accordion,fender rhodes
Larry Cox   Acoustic Bass
Paul Franklin   Steel Guitar
Vince Gill   Vocal Harmony
Mark Knopfler   Guitar,Guitar (Tremolo),Vocal Harmony
Fred Mollin   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Strings,Tambourine,12-string Guitar
Larry Paxton   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Joe Spivey   Fiddle
John Willis   Acoustic Guitar,Dobro,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Slide Guitar,Guitar (Nylon String),Guitar (12 String Acoustic)

Technical Credits

Kris Kristofferson   Composer,Liner Notes
Fred Foster   Composer
Jay Landers   Executive Producer
Mark Linett   Engineer
Fred Mollin   Producer,Liner Notes
Robert Abriola   Art Direction
Shannon Ward   Repackaging Supervison
Brian Nevin   Engineer
Rory Wilson   Art Direction
Michael Davis   Engineer

Customer Reviews