Pub. Date:
The Asylum Years

The Asylum Years

by Chris HillmanChris Hillman


$17.09 $17.99 Save 5% Current price is $17.09, Original price is $17.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 21


Omnivore's 2018 compilation The Asylum Years offers the two albums Chris Hillman recorded for the label in the mid-'70s: 1976's Slippin' Away and 1977's Clear Sailin'. These were the first two solo albums Hillman ever recorded, arriving on the heels of his stint with Stephen Stills' Manassas, a short-lived Byrds reunion in 1973, and a similarly brief supergroup with J.D. Souther and Richie Furay. Both of the albums share some aesthetic similarities with these post-Flying Burrito Brothers projects, capturing an increasingly polished take on roots music that starts to verge into the yacht rock arena. Of the two, Slippin' Away is a bit tougher, thanks to a Ron and Howard Albert production that gives plenty of space for a crew of pros -- including such all-stars as Steve Cropper, Donald "Duck" Dunn, and Jim Gordon -- to lay down a foundation that underpins the softer moments. The balance flips on Clear Sailin', whose surfaces are slicker, a move that accentuates how Hillman and producer Jim Mason dabble in such '70s affectations as Caribbean rhythms. Far from being alienating, the period gloss of The Asylum Years is a bit of a selling point -- these are warm, cozy productions that offer comfort -- and if you can hear beyond the smooth touches, it's clear that Hillman made two records that served as a bridge between the Flying Burrito Brothers and the Desert Rose Band.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 02/09/2018
Label: Omnivore Recordings
UPC: 0816651012268
catalogNumber: 101226
Rank: 94207


  1. Step on Out
  2. Slippin' Away
  3. Falling Again
  4. Take It on the Run
  5. Blue Morning
  6. Witching Hour
  7. Down in the Churchyard
  8. Love Is the Sweetest Amnesty
  9. Midnight Again
  10. (Take Me in Your) Lifeboat
  11. Nothing Gets Through
  12. Fallen Favorite
  13. Quits
  14. Hot Dusty Roads
  15. Heartbreaker
  16. Playing the Fool
  17. Lucky in Love
  18. Rollin' and Tumblin'
  19. Ain't That Peculiar
  20. Clear Sailin'

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Chris Hillman   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Bass,Mandolin,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Guitar (12 String Acoustic)
Steve Cropper   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Rick Roberts   Vocals,Hand Clapping
Jim Gordon   Drums
Howard Albert   Marimbas
Albhy Galuten   Synthesizer
Byron Berline   Fiddle,Vocals
John Brennan   Guitar
Sam Broussard   Rhythm Guitar
Donnie Dacus   Slide Guitar
Donald "Duck" Dunn   Bass
Skip Edwards   Synthesizer,Keyboards
Jim Fielder   Bass
David Garibaldi   Drums
Ivory Joe Harris   Keyboards
Paul Harris   Piano,Keyboards
Russ Kunkel   Drums
Joe Lala   Percussion,Tambourine,Hand Clapping
Bernie Leadon   Acoustic Guitar,Baritone (Vocal)
Richard Marx   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals
Herb Pedersen   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Vocals,Tenor (Vocal)
Perkins   Guitar,Electric Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Larry Sims   Bass,Vocals
George Terry   Guitar,Rhythm Guitar
Leland Sklar   Bass
Merel Bregante   Drums
Tim Schmit   Vocals

Technical Credits

Chris Hillman   Composer
Gram Parsons   Composer
Steve Stills   Composer
Carole Bayer Sager   Composer
Danny Douma   Composer
Rick Roberts   Composer
Howard Albert   Producer
Ron Albert   Producer
Greg Allen   Art Direction
Tom Knox   Engineer
Jim Mason   Producer
Danny O'Keefe   Composer
Glenn Schwartz   Licensing
David Wolfert   Composer
William Robinson   Composer
David Ruffo   Engineer
Paul Dobbe   Engineer
Peter Knobler   Composer
Dan McCorison   Composer
Scott Schinder   Liner Notes
Richard Marks   Composer
Warren Moore   Composer
Marv Tarplin   Composer
Edward Borein   Illustrations

Customer Reviews