The Ash & Clay [Deluxe Edition]

The Ash & Clay [Deluxe Edition]

by The Milk Carton KidsThe Milk Carton Kids

CD(Special Edition / Digi-Pak / Bonus DVD)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


The Ash & Clay, the second studio album from Los Angeles-based acoustic duo the Milk Carton Kids, offers up 12 no-frills slabs of vintage Greenwich Village-inspired folk that blends the close harmony singing of Simon & Garfunkel with the technical acumen of the Punch Brothers. A live staple at L.A. folk and comedy clubs, Kenneth Pattengale and Joey Ryan are known as much for their Smothers Brothers-esque banter as they are for their music, but The Ash & Clay steers clear of any shenanigans, relying heavily on classic folk tropes like love ("Honey, Honey"), heartbreak ("Years Gone By"), religion ("On the Mend"), and politics ("The Ash & Clay"), effortlessly bandying about non-specific beatnik vernacular like a pair of well-read, mock turtleneck-wearing, MacDougal Street time travelers. Standout cuts like the velvety waltz "Snake Eyes," with its parlor-gospel underpinnings and winking proclamation of "Slow, holy roller/It's just rock and roll," the wistful, Gillian Welch/Avett Brothers-infused opener "Hope of a Lifetime," and "Memphis," an evocative, impossibly lonesome, last-smoke-of-the-evening meditation on Paul Simon's "Graceland" ("This ain't a trip with my son/There's no guitar shines in the sun") succeed by invoking the duo's heroes without replicating their idiosyncrasies. [A special deluxe version of Ash & Clay was issued the following year that included a bonus DVD of a performance at the historic Lincoln Theatre in Columbus, Ohio.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/29/2014
Label: Anti
UPC: 0045778732920
catalogNumber: 87329
Rank: 44274


Disc 1

  1. Hope of a Lifetime
  2. Snake Eyes
  3. Honey, Honey
  4. Years Gone By
  5. The Ash & Clay
  6. Promised Land
  7. The Jewel of June
  8. Whisper In Her Ear
  9. On the Mend
  10. Heaven
  11. Hear Them Loud
  12. Memphis

Disc 2

  1. Intro
  2. Hope of a Lifetime
  3. The Ash & Clay
  4. Honey, Honey
  5. Years Gone By
  6. Charlie
  7. Maybe It's Time
  8. Girls, Gather 'Round
  9. Michigan
  10. Snake Eyes
  11. Heaven
  12. Stealing Romance
  13. I Still Want a Little More
  14. New York
  15. Memphis

Album Credits

Customer Reviews