The Anthology

The Anthology

by Joe CockerJoe Cocker

CD(Dutch Import)

$11.39 $11.99 Save 5% Current price is $11.39, Original price is $11.99. You Save 5%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A&M's double-disc Anthology may be too much for casual fans that just want the hits, but anyone else will find this exhaustive 37-track chronicle of Joe Cocker's prime years definitive. The first disc concentrates on his first three albums, buttressed by a rare 1964 single of the Beatles' "I'll Cry Instead" and his 1970 non-LP single "The Letter"/"Space Captain." Disc two features highlights of all the albums he recorded between 1972 and 1982, selecting not only hits, but key album tracks. The end result is a collection that is concise and definitive. It may be missing such latter day hits as "When the Night Comes" and doesn't cover as much ground as the box set Long Voyage Home, but anyone looking for a comprehensive collection of Cocker's classic recordings will be satisfied by Anthology.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/07/1999
Label: Universal Uk
UPC: 0606949039028
catalogNumber: 490390
Rank: 7658

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Joe Cocker   Primary Artist
Clarence White   Guitar
Wally Badarou   Keyboards
Jimmy Cliff   Vocals
Adrian Belew   Guitar
Rita Coolidge   Vocals,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Albert Lee   Guitar
Jimmy Page   Guitar,Soloist
Leon Russell   Organ,Guitar,Piano
Jennifer Warnes   Track Performer
Steve Winwood   Organ
Marcus Belgrave   Trumpet
Hank Crawford   Alto Saxophone
Sam Rivers   Soprano Saxophone,Soloist
Joe Sample   Keyboards
Chuck Rainey   Bass
Bonnie Bramlett   Background Vocals
Grease Band   Track Performer
Nickey Barclay   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Madeline Bell   Background Vocals
Matthew Fisher   Organ
Nicky Hopkins   Piano
Clydie King   Vocals,Background Vocals
Henry McCullough   Guitar
Pamela Polland   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Jim Price   Trumpet
Jim Sullivan   Guitar
Viola Wills   Background Vocals
Barry Reynolds   Guitar
Gary Brown   Tenor Saxophone,Soloist
Jim Keltner   Drums
Jim Gordon   Drums
Sneaky Pete Kleinow   Guitar
Virginia Ayers   Background Vocals
Barry Beckett   Piano,Clavinet
Ben Benay   Guitar
Chuck Blackwell   Percussion,Drums
Stewart Blumberg   Trumpet
Ollie E. Brown   Drums
Artie Butler   Piano
Clem Cattini   Drums
Mitch Chakour   Guitar
Mikey Chung   Guitar
Merry Clayton   Background Vocals
David Cohen   Guitar
Leroy Cooper   Baritone Saxophone
Joe Correro   Drums
Cornell Dupree   Guitar,Soloist
Sly Dunbar   Drums
Gordon Edwards   Bass
Tommy Eyre   Organ,Piano
Wilton Felder   Saxophone
Venetta Fields   Vocals
Steve Gadd   Percussion,Drums
Eric Gale   Guitar,Soloist
Beverley Gardner   Background Vocals
Cliff Goodwin   Guitar
Jay Graydon   Guitar
Philip Guilbeau   Trumpet
Patrice Holloway   Background Vocals
Ralph Hammer   Guitar
Howard Hersh   Bass
Rosetta Hightower   Background Vocals
Milt Holland   Percussion
Brenda Holloway   Background Vocals
Stix Hooper   Drums
Jim Horn   Alto Saxophone
Neil Hubbard   Guitar
Carol Kaye   Bass
Bobby Keys   Tenor Saxophone
Sanford Konikoff   Percussion
Ann Lang   Background Vocals
Trevor Lawrence   Tenor Saxophone
Steve Madaio   Trumpet
Daniel Moore   Vocals,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Matthew Moore   Vocals,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
David "Fathead" Newman   Tenor Saxophone
David Paich   Piano
Jeff Porcaro   Drums
Don Preston   Rhythm Guitar,Choir, Chorus
Bernard "Pretty" Purdie   Drums
Carl Radle   Bass
John Riley   Drums
Bruce Rowland   Drums
Peggy Sandvig   Piano
Dan Sawyer   Guitar
Robbie Shakespeare   Bass,Vocals
Sid Sharp   Strings
Kenny Slade   Drums
Alan Spenner   Bass
Chris Stainton   Organ,Bass,Guitar,Piano
Richard Tee   Organ,Piano,Keyboards
Uziah "Sticky" Thompson   Percussion
Mayo Tiana   Trombone
Bobby Torres   Conga
Tony Visconti   Guitar
Donna Washburn   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Donna Weiss   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
B.J. Wilson   Drums
Monalisa Young   Background Vocals
Flaco   Conga
Paul Humphries   Drums
Claudia Linnear   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Dave McDaniel   Bass
Ivy League   Background Vocals
Bobby Lee Jones   Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus
Mike Kellie   Drums
David Bennett Cohen   Guitar
Mike Holland   Percussion
Sunny Weetman   Background Vocals
Shelter People   Track Performer
Sherlie Matthews   Vocals,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Buffy Sainte-Marie   Composer
Joe Cocker   Composer
Leon Russell   Arranger,Producer
Joe Sample   Producer
Grease Band   Arranger
Jack Nitzsche   Composer
Mike Leander   Producer
Benji Armbrister   Engineer
Baker Bigsby   Engineer
Chris Blackwell   Producer
Denny Cordell   Producer
Wilton Felder   Producer
Rob Fraboni   Arranger,Producer,Engineer
Eric Gale   Arranger
Glyn Johns   Remixing
Stix Hooper   Producer
Brian Ingoldsby   Engineer
Will Jennings   Composer
Eddie Kramer   Engineer
Stewart Levine   Producer
Henry Lewy   Engineer
Alex Sadkin   Producer,Engineer
Peggy Sandvig   Orchestration
Chris Stainton   Arranger,Composer
Richard Tee   Arranger
Allen Toussaint   Producer
Frank Myles   Composer
Neil Case   Engineer
Sol Marcus   Composer
J.P Bean   Essay
Tom Rattigan   Composer

Customer Reviews