The Animals of Farthing Wood: The Adventure Begins

The Animals of Farthing Wood: The Adventure Begins

by Colin Dann


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, January 27
11 New & Used Starting at $2.03


There had always been otters in the stream running through Farthing Wood—and that had never been a problem for the other animals before but when there is a shortage of fish in the stream, the otters are forced to hunt on land. The otters are taking valuable prey, and the foxes and other Farthing Wood animals have to compete for food. Lean Vixen is determined to protect her family from starvation, and that means deciding on a plan to drive the otters out once and for all. An extra section in the back of the book offers more than 20 pages of interesting facts, activities, a quiz, author info, and more.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780141368740
Publisher: Penguin UK
Publication date: 04/01/2017
Series: A Puffin Book Series
Pages: 260
Sales rank: 808,151
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 0.80(d)
Age Range: 7 - 9 Years

About the Author

Colin Dann was born in Richmond, Surrey in 1943. He worked for a large textile company before landing a job in publishing at William Collins in London. During this time, he wrote his first book THE ANIMALS OF FARTHING WOOD which was an immediate success, winning the Arts Council of Great Britain's National Book Award for Children's Literature and has been translated into sixteen languages. Six sequels and a prequel have followed and in 1992 a major animation series, based on the Farthing Wood stories appeared on BBC television. He lives with his wife in a on the Sussex/Kent border.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews