The Album About Nothing

The Album About Nothing

by Wale
1 New & Used Starting at $2.49


Playing off the ideas and structure of his 2008 mixtape The Mixtape About Nothing, rapper Wale's fourth studio album uses the television sitcom Seinfeld as the framework for an introspective and autobiographical effort, and as odd as that sounds, this is the second time it has worked. It worked better the first time, but much has changed for Wale in the seven years leading up to The Album About Nothing, meaning a rekindled, quirky idea like this could put his fame at risk. It's a fame so huge that Jerry Seinfeld is actually Wale's friend now, and while the sitcom star was sampled for the 2008 mixtape, he narrates this album. Seinfeld guides listeners through the story and sometimes his routines or thoughts inspire the songs, including the key poetic track "The Helium Balloon," where flying free and high becomes a metaphor for talent. A routine about relationships ("When you get engaged it's like starting on the roller coaster...") inspires "The Matrimony" with special guest Usher, but the Jerry device is used as needed, and this ironically titled effort is heavy with Wale's own hopes, dreams, and disappointments, including dealing with a recent pregnancy, then miscarriage. "The Pessimist" with J. Cole tackles race relations and suggests that feeling flossy and/or stoned is just a temporary distraction from the bad news across society, then "The Middle Finger" gets at the helplessness of depression as it rattles off all of the rapper's problems and then drops F-bombs and "Leave me alone" as its chorus. Package all this weighty material with Jerry, George, and Elaine in the mix and the album is a creative triumph, but although Wale's got so much to say, he often says it over the same tempo, and if it weren't for "The Girls on Drugs" (rescued from another Seinfeld-themed mixtape, Festivus) and a couple other kicking moments, the musical spectrum here would be narrow. Still, it's a minor complaint as The Album About Nothing is bigger, bolder, and better than expected.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/31/2015
Label: Atlantic
UPC: 0075678670176
catalogNumber: 548431

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Wale   Primary Artist
Stokley   Vocals
Jerry Seinfeld   Dialogue
Dwele   Vocals
Osinachi Nwaneri   Guitar,Electric Guitar
Dernst Emile   Bass Guitar
Magazeen   Vocals
Tony Williams   Vocals
DJ Dahi   Keyboards
Spencer Ludwig   Horn
Daniel Tannenbaum   Strings,Vocals
Glass Animals   Keyboards
Peter Lee Johnson   Strings
Sevyn Streeter   Vocals
Idan Kalai   Vocals
Clifton "Maximus" Maxie   Piano
Christette Michelle   Vocals
Rex Kudo   Vocals
Noe Rodriguez   Bass
Mosche Snowden   Horn
Sabrina Sanchez   Vocals

Technical Credits

Janet Jackson   Composer
Burt Bacharach   Composer
Annie Lennox   Composer
R. Kelly   Composer
Samuel Barnes   Composer
Hal David   Composer
Terry Lewis   Composer
Stokley   Additional Production
Amel Larrieux   Composer
Bryce Wilson   Composer
Danny Zook   Sample Clearance
Jean Claude "Poke" Olivier   Composer
Michelle Piza   Package Production
Andwele Gardner   Composer
DJ Khalil   Producer
Osinachi Nwaneri   Composer,Producer
R.L."T3" Altman   Composer
Jake One   Composer,Producer
Rick Ross   Executive Producer
Mike Bully   Art Direction
Soundz   Producer
Olubowale Akintimehin   Composer
Darryl Brown   Composer
Emmanuel Riggins   Composer
James Harris   Composer
Kevin Spencer   Composer
Taalib Johnson   Composer
Nasir Jones   Composer
Titus Glover   Composer
Jeremy Felton   Composer
Kenneth Coby   Composer
Alex Fonseca   Composer
Warren Lankford   Composer
DJ Dahi   Programming,Producer
Jermaine Cole   Composer
Julian Gramma   Composer
Wale Folarin   Executive Producer
Pro Reese   Producer,Engineer
Craig Balmoris   Composer,Producer
Glass Animals   Programming,Producer
Julian Nixon   Composer,Producer
Adam Feeney   Composer
Sam Dew   Composer
Marce Reazon   Engineer
Dacoury Natche   Composer
David Bayley   Composer
No Credit   Producer,Engineer
David Allan Stewart   Composer
Carvin Haggins   Composer
Ron Cabiltes   Sample Clearance
Jason R. Powers   Composer
Cartier Grand   Composer
Britney Talia Hazard   Composer
Ayy Dot   Producer
Maurice Earl Barnett-Fenderson   Composer
J. Gramm   Producer
Roy C. Hammon   Composer
Robert Hebb   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews