The Act of Union of 1707

The Act of Union of 1707

by Anne Stuart

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


The separate kingdoms of Scotland and England agreed in 1707 to form a united kingdom, to be known as Great Britain, with a combined parliament. The text shown here is the Act passed by the Parliament of Scotland ratifying the articles (treaty) of union.

The Parliament of England passed a similar Act later in the same year, formally known today as the Union with Scotland Act 1706 (the apparent discrepancy in dates being due to the different calendars then in use in the two countries).

This Act still remains in force as part of the law of Scotland, although a number of the articles have either been repealed or amended since the Act was originally passed.

The original document consisted of a preamble (including the enacting formula), and twenty-five articles; these articles are given titles below, which are not part of the original document.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161966280
Publisher: Dalcassian Publishing Company
Publication date: 08/19/2018
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 835,261
File size: 182 KB

About the Author

Anne Stuart (b. 1948) is an American romance novelist who has written more than 100 books and is the recipient of the Romance Writers of America Lifetime Achievement Award, among other honors. Her first book was Barrett's Hill,a gothic romance published in 1974 when she had just turned 25. In addition to numerous stand-alone novels, she is the author of the series House of Rohan, Ice, and others. A native of Philadelphia, Stuart lives with her husband in Vermont.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews