That Girl

That Girl

by Jennifer NettlesJennifer Nettles


$15.27 $16.99 Save 10% Current price is $15.27, Original price is $16.99. You Save 10%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


That Girl is Jennifer Nettles' first solo record since she co-founded pop-country's superstar act Sugarland. Produced by Rick Rubin, it's mostly a collection of originals, co-written with some of the music industry's most successful songwriters. For his part, Rubin has chosen a familiar stable of sidemen -- Matt Sweeney, Smokey Hormel, Jason Lader, ex-Faces keyboardist Ian McLagan, Red Hot Chili Peppers' drummer Chad Smith, Alex Acuña, and Lenny Castro -- but his work here is busier than is the norm. Winds, strings, and horns also make appearances. The first single and title track, with its faux Latin groove -- complete with handclaps and congas -- is a left-field pop song kissed by McLagan's B-3 floating about the guitars and bassline until it becomes the driving engine of the tune under her voice. Opener "Falling," initiated by a pair of acoustic guitars, is completely self-written and feels closest to what Nettles has done with Sugarland. It whips itself up into a dynamic anthem with a weave of country and gospel underscoring the song's drama. "Without You" and "This Angel" are essentially acoustic ballads that get painted with strings about midway through. "Moneyball" and "Good Time to Cry" use Southern soul as their jump-off points. That said, they are so self-consciously retro, they feel somewhat restrained by the genre formula. "Jealousy," co-written with Kevin Griffin, is a shiny, breezy, summery pop song kissed by Brazilian rhythms and fluid acoustic guitars. It's also in the R&B camp, but it's modern and more natural in its well-polished yet effective presentation. "This One's for You," a sultry love song co-written with Sara Bareilles, contains a simple melody but showcases a dynamite chart displaying an intricate interplay between piano, electric guitar, and horns as they frame the obvious emotion Nettles puts into the song. These two cuts are the album's finest moments. "Now You Wanna Know," co-written with Richard Marx, is a straight-up barroom rocker with a chanted male backing chorus and driven by McLagan's Jerry Lee Lewis-esque piano. The lone cover is Bob Seger's "Like a Rock" that closes the record and features the Dap Kings' horns. It begins as a stately acoustic ballad, but quickly becomes a crossroads where old-school Southern soul and gospel intersect. It's looser, rawer, inspired, committed: it works. She should use it as an inspiration for her next solo offering. No one doubts the power in Nettles' throaty contralto, but some of these songs feel too calculated or require more subtlety to completely pull off. That said, these simple shortcomings won't -- nor should they -- deter her fans. That Girl was obviously designed to showcase her diversity as a vocalist and songwriter, and to cross over to a pop audience (but don't expect country radio to ignore it) -- more than likely, it will.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/14/2014
Label: Mercury Nashville
UPC: 0602537525256
catalogNumber: 001916302
Rank: 8683

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jennifer Nettles   Primary Artist
Marty Krystall   Clarinet
Steve Kujala   Alto Flute,Bass Flute
Ian McLagan   Keyboards
Alex Acuña   Percussion
Charlie Bisharat   Violin,Concert Master
Jacqueline Brand   Violin
David Campbell   Conductor
Lenny Castro   Percussion
Joe Meyer   French Horn
Joel Peskin   Baritone Saxophone
Chad Smith   Drums
David Stout   Trombone
Lee Thornburg   Trumpet
Doug Tornquist   Tuba
Josefina Vergara   Violin
Smokey Hormel   Guitar
Brian Scanlon   Tenor Saxophone
Suzie Katayama   Cello
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Matt Sweeney   Guitar
Cochemea Gastelum   Baritone Saxophone
Chris Bleth   Bass Clarinet,Alto Flute,Bass Flute,Oboe
Neal Sugarman   Tenor Saxophone
Chris Gray   Trumpet
Jason Lader   Bass
Alyssa Park   Violin
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Steve Richards   Cello
Michele Richards   Violin
Steven Holtman   Trombone
Sarah Parkins   Violin
Dap-Kings   Horn
Dave Guy   Trumpet
Daniel Fornero   Trumpet,Flugelhorn

Technical Credits

Tim Owens   Composer
David Campbell   Arranger
Derek George   Composer
Kevin Griffin   Composer
Richard Marx   Composer
Mike Reid   Composer
Rick Rubin   Producer
Bob Seger   Composer
Butch Walker   Composer
Greg Fidelman   Engineer
Scott Patton   Composer
Karen Naff   Art Direction
Jennifer Nettles   Composer
Eric Lynn   Engineer
Gabriel Roth   Engineer
Dana Nielsen   Engineer
Sara Bareilles   Composer
Phillip Sweet   Composer
Sean Oakley   Engineer

Customer Reviews