Tha Funk Capital of the World

Tha Funk Capital of the World

by Bootsy CollinsBootsy Collins


$8.67 $9.99 Save 13% Current price is $8.67, Original price is $9.99. You Save 13%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, February 26
4 New & Used Starting at $2.99


Thinking big, Bootsy Collins' 2011 effort is a conceptual trip, a funky history lesson brought to life by the P-Funk veteran, his rock-solid band, and a slew of guest stars, ranging from rapper Ice Cube to professor Cornel West. In between, there's funk-rock shredding from freaky and frequent collaborator Buckethead, some psychedelic storytelling by way of an old Jimi Hendrix interview, plus better-than-expected prose from both Rev. Al Sharpton (on the cultural magnificence of James Brown) and Samuel L. Jackson (on how the funk era was a Renaissance for the hood). Underneath it all, the P-Funk jams pop and stroll with that same old swagger, while Bootsy himself beams down his wild bits of Mothership wisdom, including "It's recess time, so put a smile on your mind" ("Don't Take My Funk") and "If you wanna lead the orchestra, you're gonna have to turn your back to the crowd" ("Siento Bombo"). The album is a bit too fat to be considered classic, but there's a casual charm to this free-flowing, reminiscence party which could have just as easily been an elaborate mess. A tribute to the late P-Funk guitarist Garry Shider and an appearance from Bootsy's older brother Catfish Collins -- who died before the album saw release -- add poignancy to this rich and funky success.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/26/2011
Label: Mascot
UPC: 0020286155867
catalogNumber: 61558
Rank: 53084

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bootsy Collins   Primary Artist,Guitar,Drums,Keyboards,Rap,Rhymes,Space Bass
Ice Cube   Rap,Rhymes
Bobby Womack   Vocals
Bernie Worrell   Keyboards
Penny Ford   Vocals
Dennis Chambers   Drums
Hal Melia   Saxophone
Snoop Dogg   Rap,Rhymes
Buckethead   Guitar
George Clinton   Vocals
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Guitar,Vocals
Béla Fleck   Banjo
Jimi Hendrix   Rap,Rhymes
Michael Phillip   Horn Section
Garry Shider   Guitar
Randy Villars   Saxophone
Frankie "Kash" Waddy   Drums
Fred Wesley   Trombone
Tony Wilson   Vocals
Victor Wooten   Space Bass
Joel "Razor Sharp" Johnson   Keyboards
Brian Hogg   Saxophone
Jerald Daemyon   Strings
Linda Shider   Vocals
Danny Ray   Rap,Rhymes
Mike Wade   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Steve Jordan   Drums
Adrian Hall   Vocals
Gary Winters   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Musiq (Soulchild)   Vocals
Samuel L. Jackson   Rap,Rhymes
Cornel West   Rap,Rhymes
Casey Driessen   Strings
Morris Mingo   Keyboards
Tom Joyner   Rap,Rhymes
Farnell Newton   Horn Section
Zion Planet 10   Vocals
Nick Arnold   Vocals
Candice Cheatham   Vocals
Shelia E   Drums
Phil Ade'   Rap,Rhymes
Olvido Ruiz   Vocals
Rev. Al Sharpton   Rap,Rhymes
Faith Daniels   Rap,Rhymes
Chrissy Dunn   Vocals
Andrew Olson   Horn Section
Shawn Steele   Guitar
Ronni "Racket" Jennings   Guitar
Razzberry White   Vocals
Pastor Cooper   Vocals
Mohamed Seck   African Drums
Marck Fields   Trombone
Li'l Diamond   Vocals
Kyle Molitor   Horn Section
Khrys Styles   Rap,Rhymes
Fallou Sy   African Drums
Xavier Styles   Rap,Rhymes
Bootzilla Choir   Vocals
Paul Patterson   Strings

Technical Credits

Bobby Womack   Composer
Bernie Worrell   Composer
Ron Carter   Composer
George Duke   Composer
Snoop Dogg   Composer
Bootsy Collins   Composer,Engineer,drum programming
George Clinton   Composer
Phelps "Catfish" Collins   Composer
Ron Jennings   Composer
William Johnson   Composer
Robert Musso   Engineer
Erik Zobler   Engineer
Donald Moore   Composer
Johnny Juice Rosado   Engineer
Joel "Razor Sharp" Johnson   Composer
Johnny Davis   Composer
Linda Shider   Composer
Brian Carroll   Composer
Musiq (Soulchild)   Composer
Pete Roberts   Composer
Samuel L. Jackson   Composer
Cornel West   Composer
Toby Donohue   Engineer
Dan Monti   Engineer
Morris Mingo   Composer
Oui Wey Collins   Engineer,drum programming
Claude VonStroke   Composer
Charles Reynolds   Engineer
Nick Arnold   Composer
Candice Cheatham   Composer
Frank Waddy   Composer
O. Jackson   Composer
Alex Fraser   Engineer
Phil Ade'   Composer
Dave "Diz Mix" Lopez   Engineer
Olvido Ruiz   Composer
Rev. Al Sharpton   Composer
Chrissy Dunn   Composer
Asmandis Ivasili   Engineer
Sally Dorsey   Composer
Razzberry White   Composer
Tamah Dorsey   Composer
Summer Hughes   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews