Terra Nova

Terra Nova

by Robin KenyattaRobin Kenyatta


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Backing off a bit from the outright funky fusion of 1972's Gypsy Man, Terra Nova nonetheless finds saxophonist Robin Kenyatta still indulging his newfound love of electricity and rhythmically altered jazz-funk tempered by his newfound love of Caribbean music. This Michael Cuscuna-produced date showcases Kenyatta's alto in three different settings -- though half of them feature him in an octet with a pair of electric guitarists and two pianists, an organist, bassist, drummer, and no less than Ralph MacDonald on percussion. The feel on most of these cuts is informed by bubbling funky reggae and calypso. Eric Kaz's "Temptation Took Control (And I Fell)" and " Mother Earth (Provides for Me)," Stevie Wonder's "You Are the Sunshine of My Life," Eddie Harris' "Freedom Jazz Dance" and the originals "Island Shakedown" and the title track (that add saxophonist Carlos Garnett, trumpeter Enrico Rava, and trombonist Jonas Gwangwa), are all drenched in these rhythms. The remaining two numbers include a tough, Ray Charles- inflected soul-jazz version of Little Willie John's "Need Your Love So Bad," and the straight up proto-smooth jazz tune "Touch." These latter two numbers make the recording feel a bit schizy, but nonetheless extremely enjoyable -- though in 1973 it must have felt like it was coming from left-field -- and has dated well This is a prime example of the wide range of musical interests Kenyatta attempted to integrate during the '70s. Wounded Bird finally made this set available on CD in 2008.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/12/2008
Label: Wounded Bird
UPC: 0664140164420
catalogNumber: 1644
Rank: 58010

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Robin Kenyatta   Primary Artist,Flute,Saxophone,Alto Saxophone,Soprano Saxophone
Ron Carter   Electric Bass
Carlos Garnett   Tenor Saxophone
Enrico Rava   Trumpet
Ralph MacDonald   Percussion,Conga
Boris Gardiner   Electric Bass
Gladstone Anderson   Piano
Hux Brown   Guitar
Dougie Bryan   Rhythm Guitar
Winston Grennan   Drums
Neville Hinds   Piano,Electric Piano
Ray Lucas   Drums
Pat Rebillot   Piano,Electric Piano
Winston Wright   Organ
Sonny Burke   Organ
Jonas Gwangwa   Trombone
Betty Jack Davis   Vocals
Rad Bryan   Rhythm Guitar
Jackie Jackson   Electric Bass

Technical Credits

Michael Cuscuna   Producer,Audio Production
George Patterson   Composer
Jonas Gwangwa   Horn Arrangements

Customer Reviews