The Ten Things to Do When Your Life Falls Apart: An Emotional and Spiritual Handbook

The Ten Things to Do When Your Life Falls Apart: An Emotional and Spiritual Handbook

by Daphne Rose Kingma


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Add layoffs, foreclosures, and skyrocketing health-care costs to the inevitable crises of every life, and you have today’s landscape. Amid these challenges, even those who thought they had solid coping skills feel that their center cannot hold as things fall apart. In her first book in many years, bestselling author Daphne Rose Kingma takes us on a path of emotional and spiritual healing, with particular attention to the complex and frequently overwhelming circumstances of our lives right now. The perfect combination of empathic friend, sage counselor, savvy problem solver, and even gallows humorist, Kingma looks straight into the predicaments so many of us face. She then offers ten deceptively simple yet profoundly effective strategies for coping on practical, emotional, and spiritual levels.

The devastating events cannot be changed, but after reading this book, you will be, having recovered a sense of equanimity, spirit, and strength. Whether you’re struggling with money issues, job loss, relationship problems, an unexpected health crisis, or all of the above, this book will light your path and heal your heart.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781577316985
Publisher: New World Library
Publication date: 04/06/2010
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 379,122
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.90(h) x 0.70(d)

About the Author

Daphne Rose Kingma’s bestsellers include Coming Apart, The Men We Never Knew, and The Future of Love. She and her work have appeared in most major media outlets, and she presents seminars and workshops around the world. She lives in Santa Barbara, California.

Table of Contents

Introduction: When Life Falls Apart xi

Chapter 1 Cry Your Heart Out 3

Chapter 2 Face Your Defaults 19

Chapter 3 Do Something Different 47

Chapter 4 Let Go 69

Chapter 5 Remember Who You've Always Been 87

Chapter 6 Persist 105

Chapter 7 Integrate Your Loss 121

Chapter 8 Live Simply 145

Chapter 9 Go Where the Love Is 167

Chapter 10 Live in the Light of the Spirit 191

Peace Be with You 210

Acknowledgments 211

About the Author 213

Customer Reviews