Tapestries of Hope, Threads of Love: The Arpillera Movement in Chile

Tapestries of Hope, Threads of Love: The Arpillera Movement in Chile

by Marjorie Agosín, Isabel Allende

NOOK BookSecond Edition (eBook - Second Edition)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Tapestries of Hope, Threads of Love tells the story of ordinary women living in terror and extreme poverty under General Pinochet's oppressive rule in Chile (1973–1989). These women defied the military dictatorship by embroidering their sorrow on scraps of cloth, using needles and thread as one of the boldest means of popular protest and resistance in Latin America. The arpilleras they made—patchwork tapestries with scenes of everyday life and memorials to their disappeared relatives—were smuggled out of Chile and brought to the world the story of their fruitless searches in jails, morgues, government offices, and the tribunals of law for their husbands, brothers, and sons.

Marjorie Agosín, herself a native of and exile from Chile, has spent more than thirty years interviewing the arpilleristas and following their work. She knows their stories intimately and knows, too, that none of them has ever found a disappeared relative alive. Even though the dictatorship ended in 1989 and democracy returned to Chile, no full account of the detained and disappeared has ever been offered. Still, many women maintain hope and continue to make arpilleras, both in memory and as art.

This new edition of the book, updated for students, includes a reaction to the death of General Pinochet, a chronology of Chile, several new testimonies from arpilleristas in their own words, and an introduction by Peter Kornbluh. It retains a section of full-color plates of arpilleras, an afterword by Peter Winn, and a foreword by Isabel Allende. Students and interested readers will find the arpilleras beautiful, moving, and ultimately hopeful, and the testimonies a powerful way to learn about the history of contemporary Latin America and the arpillera movement in Chile.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781461666356
Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc.
Publication date: 10/10/2007
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 240
Sales rank: 1,075,049
File size: 2 MB
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Marjorie Agosín is professor of Spanish and the history of women in Latin American culture at Wellesley College. She is the author of numerous short stories, books of poetry, and novels.

Table of Contents

Chronology of Chile, 1941–2006
Part I: Art as Witness
Chapter 1: The Texture of Memory
Chapter 2: Returning to the Shadows
Chapter 3: A Journey to the South
Chapter 4: Weaving My Story
Part II: Testimonies, 1973–1994
Chapter 5: Violeta Morales
Chapter 6: Valentina Bonne
Chapter 7: Anita Rojas
Chapter 8: Irma Muller
Chapter 9: Mother of Augustín A. Martínez Meza
Chapter 10: Doris Meniconi Lorca
Chapter 11: Gala Jesús Torres Aravena
Part III: Testimonies, 2005–2006
Chapter 12: Viviana Díaz Caro
Chapter 13: Gala Torres Aravena
Chapter 14: María Madariaga and Patricia Hidalgo
Chapter 15: Charo Henríquez
Chapter 16: Adriana Rojas

Customer Reviews