by The RaptureThe Rapture


$12.23 $13.99 Save 13% Current price is $12.23, Original price is $13.99. You Save 13%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, April 22


Enjoyment of the Rapture's Tapes necessitates unfamiliarity with the majority of its contents, indifference to acute sequencing and, naturally, deep interest in what the band views as classic and fresh. The set, containing 22 tracks in 74 minutes, flits across several forms of dance music -- funk, disco, go-go, house, techno, hip-hop, disco revivalism -- often to a jarring extent, indeed sounding like it was selected by committee. The tougher transitions between ill-fitting tracks are masked with fade-outs and drastic bottom elimination through EQ'ing, and some tracks that do match up rhythmically -- Richie Havens' coarse cover of Lamont Dozier's "Going Back to My Roots" and Galaxy 2 Galaxy's gleaming "Afros, ARPs, and Minimoogs" being the prime pair -- sometimes present clashing moods and tones. Out of the newer tracks, the strongarming ardkore hip-house of Dances with White Girls' "Everybody's Got to Make a Living," released on the Rapture's own Throne of Blood label, wins out.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/24/2008
Label: K7
UPC: 0730003722929
catalogNumber: 37229
Rank: 169566


  1. Earthquake Shake
  2. Daytona 500
  3. The Word
  4. Holy Ghost
  5. Bounce, Rock, Skate, Roll
  6. Tee's Happy
  7. I'm an Indian Too
  8. Disco Circus
  9. Fantasy Lines
  10. Club Soda
  11. The Passion
  12. Flowerz
  13. Say U Will
  14. Where's Jason's K
  15. Township Funk
  16. Cpstyre
  17. Everybody's Got to Make a Living
  18. Why Not?!
  19. Get Get Down
  20. Austin's Groove
  21. Going Back to My Roots
  22. Afro Arps and Minimoogs

Album Credits

Customer Reviews