Pub. Date:


by FoalsFoals


$15.30 $15.99 Save 4% Current price is $15.3, Original price is $15.99. You Save 4%.


Back in the 1980s, we kids used to make cassette mixtapes for a couple of reasons: first, and most importantly, to flirt with the objects of our romantic desire. Second, to show off our musical sophistication -- nothing says "I'm hip" like having a piece of vegetarian propaganda by Flux of Pink Indians segue into an album track from Altered Images. With the Tapes series, the !K7 label seeks to revive the mixtape tradition, inviting artists as varied as the Rapture and Big Pink to put together programs with that approach in mind -- not to make a typical DJ mix, but to compile a track list as if it were intended for the two sides of a cassette tape. Foals' entry in the series succeeds at creating the old-school mood, but does so in a distinctly 21st century, not to say postmodern style. On "Side A" (the more song-oriented half of the program), you'll hear a track drawn from an obscure South African pop music compilation, the Gatto Fritto remix of Jr Seaton's "Way Savvy," and seemingly random entries from Blood Orange, Afro-pop drummer Tony Allen, and a lovely funk-soul number from Zap Mama leader Marie Daulne. Side B focuses more on house- and techno-based dance music and electronica, and features contributions from the likes of Caribou, Sepalcure, and the Congotronics crew Konono No. 1. The album ends on a blissfully uplifting note, with the Gospel Comforters' version of "Yes God Is Real." It all adds up to an exhilarating and at times revelatory mash-up of wildly varied flavors, like a really excellent fruit salad.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/24/2012
Label: K7
UPC: 0730003729621
catalogNumber: 296
Rank: 152908


  1. Variations
  2. Ted
  3. Tropical Hands
  4. Confusion (Ma Afrika)
  5. London Girl
  6. Way Savvy
  7. Dinner
  8. B Side
  9. Cheaters
  10. Superflight
  11. Effective Placebo Affect
  12. Kilode
  13. We Call Love
  14. Give Me Love
  15. Take Some Time Out
  16. Oar003-B
  17. Every Day of My Life
  18. Mushrooms
  19. Battle For Middle You
  20. Sun
  21. Paradiso
  22. Yes God is Real

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Foals   Primary Artist
Arnold Jarvis   Vocals
Niamh McCartney   Vocals

Technical Credits

Tony Allen   Composer
Cerrone   Composer,Producer
Marshall Jefferson   Composer
Vincent Kenis   Producer
Tommy Musto   Composer,Programming,Producer
Barbara Snow   Composer
Chris Taylor   Producer
Condry Ziqubu   Composer
Matthew Herbert   Composer
Yvonne Turner   Composer,Programming,Producer
Chris Liebing   Composer,Producer
Andrew Wooden   Composer,Producer
Kenny Glasgow   Composer,Producer
Dan Snaith   Composer,Producer
Jimmy Edgar   Remixing,Additional Production
Travis Stewart   Composer,Producer
In Flagranti   Composer,Producer
Justin Martin   Remixing,Additional Production
Devonté Hynes   Composer
Kayode Samuel   Composer
Tanner Ross   Composer,Producer
Gatto Fritto   Instrumentation,Additional Production
Tom Herbert   Composer
Oliver Johnson "Dorian Concept"   Composer,Producer
Wisniak   Composer
Dave Okumu   Composer
M. Daulne   Composer
Nicolas Jaar   Composer,Producer
Jonny White   Composer,Producer
Oni Ayhun   Composer
Julio Bashmore   Producer
Leo Taylor   Composer
Mawangu Mingiedi   Composer
Eli Goldstein   Composer,Producer
Charles Levine   Composer,Producer
Nick Weiss   Composer
Logan Takahashi   Composer
Harry Agius   Arranger
Praveen Sharma   Composer,Producer
Seaton   Composer,Producer
Christopher Clark   Composer
Selwyn Shandel   Composer

Customer Reviews