Tangled Up

Tangled Up

by Thomas RhettThomas Rhett


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Thomas Rhett had hits off his 2013 debut It Goes Like This, but Tangled Up, its 2015 successor, feels like the album where the singer/songwriter comes into his own by borrowing moves from fellow country bros Florida Georgia Line and Sam Hunt. Rhett wrote for FGL -- specifically, the hit "Round Here" -- but Tangled Up is by no means as aggressively macho as that duo. It capitalizes on Rhett's soulful streak -- strip away the 21st century consumerism and "Die a Happy Man" easily could've come out of Muscle Shoals in the late '60s -- and also his humor and his allegiance to good times that don't necessarily come from either a honky tonk or a sports bar. Rhett displays an omnivorous cultural appetite that shows he's a millennial: underneath his acoustic guitars are lightly looped beats, but he's also just as likely to push disco to the forefront, as he does on "I Feel Good" and a title track that's happily a glitter ball throwback. Rhett may switch on a Totally '80s Flashback weekend when he's chilling out, but he's a modern guy, dropping passing allusions to Guns N' Roses and Third Eye Blind, hoisting Solo cups filled with Bud Light Lime and splashes of liquor in coconut water, aware that his excursions in neo-disco may bring Michael Jackson to mind but they also sound a bit like Sam Hunt or the Weeknd. By playing both sides of the fence, Rhett may be a bit of an opportunist, but as his hit "Crash and Burn" indicates, there's a sly charm to his eager-to-please modern country: he's a true pop artist, harnessing the trends of his time and turning them into music that's hard to resist.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/2015
Label: Valory
UPC: 0843930018536
catalogNumber: 0200
Rank: 23412

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Thomas Rhett   Primary Artist
Dann Huff   Electric Guitar,Soloist
Jimmie Lee Sloas   Bass
Russell Terrell   Background Vocals
Joe London   Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards
Derek Wells   Electric Guitar
Matt Stanfield   Keyboards
Bryon "Mr. Talkbox" Chambers   Synthesizer,Talk Box
Chris DeStefano   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Bass,Piano,Drums,Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals
Rob McNelley   Electric Guitar
Teddy Geiger   Bass
Chris Kimmerer   Drums
Chris Stapleton   Electric Guitar,Background Vocals
Danny Rader   Acoustic Guitar
Charlie Judge   Keyboards
Charlie Puth   Keyboards
Byron "Talkbox" Chambers   Synthesizer,Talk Box
Sean Douglas   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Lee Oskar   Composer
Thomas Allen   Composer
Harold Brown   Composer
Dann Huff   Producer
Steve Marcantonio   Engineer
Howard Scott   Composer
John Shearer   Cover Photo
Rhett Akins   Composer
Charles Miller   Composer
Russell Terrell   Engineer
Joe London   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Morris Dickerson   Composer
Shane McAnally   Composer
Scott Schwartz   Composer
Chris DeStefano   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Jaren Johnston   Composer
Ross Copperman   Composer
Teddy Geiger   Composer
Becky Reiser   Graphic Design,Art Direction
Ashley Gorley   Composer
Adam Hoffman   Composer
Luke Laird   Composer
Eric Frederic   Composer
Chris Stapleton   Composer
Jesse Frasure   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Sandi Spika Borchetta   Art Direction
Jimmy Robbins   Composer
Ben Hayslip   Composer
Jacob Kasher   Composer
Seth Morton   Engineer
Josh Osborne   Composer
Gerry Goldstein   Composer
Leroy Jordan   Composer
Joe Spargur   Composer
John Ryan   Composer
Matt Lipkins   Composer
Andreas Schüller   Composer
Thomas Rhett   Composer,Liner Notes
Nicolle Galyon   Composer
Gamal Lewis   Composer
Charlie Puth   Composer,Additional Production
Abbey Lanigan   Graphic Design
Andreas Schuller   Composer
Sean Douglas   Composer

Customer Reviews