Talking to Strangers

Talking to Strangers

by Shemekia Copeland Shemekia Copeland




What happens when you put New Orleans funk and R&B roots behind a wide-open, Harlem-bred blues belter? That’s the premise on young blues-singing sensation Shemekia Copeland’s Talking to Strangers, which sets Dr. John behind the keyboards and in the producer’s chair. He also brings in members of his band -- most notably the best R&B drummer working today, Herman Ernest -- to add depth and diversity to Copeland’s fired-up touring band. The Good Doctor’s touch is felt throughout the CD. It’s as if Copeland were clay for him to sculpt into each tune. “Should Have Come Home” features his swampy organ with Copeland’s bold vocals coming on as worldly as a Bourbon Street streetwalker. On “Too Much Traffic” Dr. John’s piano tinkles in all the right places, giving Copeland tongue-in-cheek-support for her story of finding evidence of cheating in her boyfriend’s house. And for the love song “The Push I Need,” Dr. John blends his vocals with Copeland’s for a duet that could have come from 1959. But it’s not all oldies-but-goodies. The Dr. John-penned slow blues “Too Close” is as fresh as the latest story of commitment phobia, and “Ka-Ching” is a modern revenge tale with a credit card for a weapon. “Walk On” has the feel of New Orleans soul queen Irma Thomas’s live sets at Jazz Fest, while “Don’t Whisper” has all the drama of an Etta James reading. Copeland is still young, just 23, and she has grown and matured since her much-acclaimed previous release, Wicked. But the best thing about Talking to Strangers is that Dr. John has showcased this young singer's many talents and moods.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/17/2002
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551488729
catalogNumber: 4887
Rank: 64763


  1. Livin' on Love
  2. Two's a Crowd
  3. When a Woman's Had Enough
  4. Sholanda's
  5. Don't Whisper
  6. Should Have Come Home
  7. Talking to Strangers
  8. Too Much Traffic
  9. Too Close
  10. Walk On
  11. Ka-Ching
  12. The Push I Need
  13. Happy Valentine's Day
  14. When the Battle Is Over
  15. Pie in the Sky

Album Credits

Customer Reviews