Tales of City Life. I. The City Clerk II.

Tales of City Life. I. The City Clerk II. "Life is Sweet"

by Catharine M. Sedgwick


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 24


"Tales of City Life" is a is a 1861 work by Catharine Maria Sedgwick. It comprises two short stories, "The City Clerk" and "'Life is Sweet'", both of which offer the reader an authentic insight into day-to-day city life in nineteenth-century America. This book is highly recommended for those with an interest in American history, and it is not to be missed by fans of Sedgwick's work. Catharine Maria Sedgwick (1789 - 1867) was an American novelist and prominent supporter of Republican motherhood whose work is frequently referred to as "domestic fiction". Other notable works by this author include: "Hope Leslie" (1827), "The Linwoods" (1835), "Live and Let Live" (1837). Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. It is with this in mind that we are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with a specially commissioned new biography of the author.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781473338012
Publisher: Read Books
Publication date: 04/20/2017
Pages: 104
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.25(d)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews