Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Systematic Chaos

Systematic Chaos

by Dream Theater Dream Theater
Systematic Chaos

Systematic Chaos

by Dream Theater Dream Theater




Few bands in the history of rock have warranted the "either you love them or hate them" tag as much as Dream Theater, as fanatics consider them musical geniuses, while detractors sneer at their bombast. Either way, there's no arguing that the group has built a large and loyal following over the years by doing things their way, and with little to no help from radio or MTV. And on their tenth full-length overall (and first for their new label, Roadrunner), 2007's Systematic Chaos, the quintet sticks to the prog metal game plan that they've followed since their inception. In true Dream Theater fashion, the gentlemen are not ashamed to show off their chops -- as evidenced by the album opener, "In the Presence of Enemies, Pt. 1," in which James LaBrie's vocals do not kick in until after the five-minute mark. Elsewhere, "Forsaken" proves wrong those who say that Dream Theater is all about instrumental gymnastics and not songwriting, at least momentarily, while "The Dark Eternal Light" features some nifty Pantera-esque riffing from John Petrucci. Additionally, "Repentance" is one of the album's four ten-minute-plus, mid-paced epics, and features a prerequisite of countless extended prog suites and spoken word passages. Unlike other veteran rock acts that attempted to update their sound with the times (and failed miserably), Dream Theater has admirably stuck to its guns through thick and thin -- much to the delight of their legion of admirers -- and they continue to do so on Systematic Chaos. And for that, we salute you with a flurry of flawlessly sweep-picked arpeggios. [The 2007 CD/DVD edition features the entire album remixed for 5.1 Surround on an included bonus DVD.]

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/04/2007
Label: Warner Bros Uk
UPC: 0016861799229
catalogNumber: 6179922
Rank: 171510


  1. In the Presence of Enemies, Pt. 1: Prelude/Resurrection
  2. Forsaken
  3. Constant Motion
  4. The Dark Eternal Night
  5. Repentance
  6. Prophets of War
  7. The Ministry of Lost Souls
  8. In the Presence of Enemies, Pt. 2: Heretic/The Slaughter of the Damned/

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dream Theater   Primary Artist
Jon Anderson   Vocals
Joe Satriani   Vocals
Steve Vai   Vocals
David Ellefson   Vocals
Steve Hogarth   Vocals
James LaBrie   Vocals
Neal Morse   Vocals
John Myung   Bass
John Petrucci   Guitar,Vocals
Mike Portnoy   Percussion,Drums,Vocals
Corey Taylor   Vocals
Jordan Rudess   Keyboards
Steven Wilson   Vocals
Mikael Åkerfeldt   Vocals
Daniel Gildenlow   Vocals
Chris Jericho   Vocals

Technical Credits

Dream Theater   Composer
James LaBrie   Composer
Paul Northfield   Engineer,Vocal Producer
John Petrucci   Composer,Producer
Mike Portnoy   Composer,Producer
Hugh Syme   Art Direction,Illustrations
Frank Solomon   Management

Customer Reviews