Switch [Tour Edition]

Switch [Tour Edition]



View All Available Formats & Editions
1 New & Used Starting at $199.49


There are a couple of ways to approach Switch -- either as the latest disc to emerge from the reality show universe or as a new chapter in the tale of a band that bowed out sooner than they needed to. On either front, the album -- the first full-fledged INXS release since the 1997 suicide of frontman Michael Hutchence -- works pretty well. Yes, it's got its fair share of cheesy moments (new frontman J. D. Fortune was, after all, an Elvis impersonator in his past life), but there's something uncannily sincere about the way he and his new bandmates chug through both mid-tempo rockers like "Pretty Vegas" and lighter-igniting power ballads like "Afterglow," probably the closest song, in spirit, if not sound, to the band's halcyon days. Occasionally, the original members do try a bit too hard to replicate those bygone moments -- "Devil's Party," for instance, resurrects the melody line of "Original Sin" -- but for the most part, they manage to update the vibe successfully. Andrew Farriss, who was responsible for writing the music for most of the band's best-known material, reprises that role here, turning out tunes that alternately swing (the bass-driven "Like It or Not," for example) and tease, such as "Never Let You Go," which cross-breeds reggae and cerebral new wave to good effect. There's no attempt to disguise the made-for-TV origins of Switch -- Rock Star runners-up Suzie McNeil and Deanna Johnston crop up on "God's Top Ten" -- but judging by the evidence in the grooves, INXS have more to offer than just reruns.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/05/2006
Label: Sony Australia
UPC: 0828768947623
catalogNumber: 689476

Album Credits

Performance Credits

INXS   Primary Artist
Guy Chambers   Guitar,Keyboards
Andrew Farriss   Group Member
Jon Farriss   Group Member
Tim Farriss   Group Member
Dan Higgins   Flute,Tenor Saxophone,Baritone
Andy Martin   Trombone
Paul Mirkovich   Piano,Background Vocals
Kirk Pengilly   Group Member
Wayne Bergeron   Trumpet,Flugelhorn
Lisbeth Scott   Background Vocals
Anne Lewis   Background Vocals
Paul Stanborough   Guitar
J.D. Fortune   Group Member
Deanna Johnston   Background Vocals
Suzie McNeil   Vocals,Background Vocals
Garry Beers   Group Member

Technical Credits

Scott Duncan   Video Director
Desmond Child   Composer
Gregg Alexander   Composer
Guy Chambers   Composer,Producer,Orchestral Arrangements
Andrew Farriss   Composer,Horn Arrangements
Jon Farriss   Composer
Shelly Peiken   Composer
Kirk Pengilly   Composer,Horn Arrangements
Annie Roboff   Composer
Tony Bruno   Composer
Brandy Flower   Art Direction
Richard Flack   Programming,Producer,Engineer
Mark LeCorre   Live Recording
Joey "6 Strings" Brandt   Cover Photo
Paul Stanborough   Engineer
Jordis Unga   Composer
Marty Casey   Composer
J.D. Fortune   Composer
Michael Murchison   Management
Martha Troup   Management
Katherine Kennedy   Video Producer
Garry Beers   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews