Swingbillies: Hillbilly and Western Swing

Swingbillies: Hillbilly and Western Swing


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, December 2


The Modern label is most known for the blues, R&B, and rock & roll it recorded in the 1940s and 1950s. But it did record or lease some hillbilly and Western swing, mostly in the late '40s, and as late as 1953. Swingbillies brings together 28 such recordings from 1947-1953, a dozen of them previously unissued. There are some names here and there that might excite flickers of recognition from those not immersed in the mid-20th century Western swing world, like Jimmy Bryant, Cliff Bruner, Link Davis, and Chuck Guillory. Yet for the most part this is the work of obscure musicians, and as a sampler of hillbilly/Western swing from the era goes, it's decent though not upper-crust. Some of the wacky humor found in much of the Western swing era is evident in cuts like Rocky Morgan and His Triple R Boys' "You Can't Rope a Steer in a Taxi" and Ted Shelton and His Bryan Country Boys' "Lover Boy" (with its chorus "I broke her heart, and she broke my jaw"), while humor of a far more risque bent rears its head in Homer Clemons's "Little Beaver" and "Operation Blues." Overall it might be more amiable than innovative, with plenty of the fiddles, steel, boogie, and laconic vocals so integral to the genre. Some of the numbers are more ear-catching than others, with Cliff Bruner & the Texas Wanderers' "San Antonio Blues" putting more of an earthy shuffle grit into the proceedings than some others did; Bryant showing off his excellent jazzy electric guitar style on "Holiday for Guitar"; and Papa Cairo showing more of a Cajun influence on "Kooche Kooche."

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 04/14/2003
Label: Ace Records Uk
UPC: 0029667189323
catalogNumber: 893
Rank: 87279


  1. I Knew That You Were Foolin' All Along
  2. Little Beaver AKA Big Beaver @@Homer And His Texas Swingbillies Clemons
  3. You Can't Rope a Steer in a Taxi @@Rocky And His Triple R Boys Morgan
  4. One Million Railroad Ties from Home
  5. High Geared Daddy @@Sunrise Rangers
  6. Holiday for Guitar @@Sons Of The Saddle
  7. Tennessee Baby
  8. Trusting You @@Bill And His Orange Blossom Playboys Woods
  9. Life's a Funny Proposition (After All) @@Rocky And His Triple R Boys Morgan
  10. The Honey Jump, Pt. 1 @@Jody And His Round Up Boys Webb
  11. Baby Did You Lie to Me
  12. Operation Blues @@Homer And His Texas Swing Billies Clemons
  13. Boogie Barn Dance
  14. Big Texas #2 @@Papa Cairo And His Boys
  15. Those Wonderful Days With You
  16. Turn That Gun Around @@Rocky And His Triple R Boys Morgan
  17. You Just Wait and See
  18. If You Care Again
  19. Dusty Road Boogie
  20. Have I Got a Chance With You @@Bill And His Orange Blossom Playboys Woods
  21. Pine Club Boogie @@Louie And His Rhythm Five Hooks
  22. Lover Boy @@Ted And His Bryan County Boys Shelton
  23. Mind Your Own Business
  24. T for Texas (Blue Yodel No. 1)
  25. My Heart Lied to Me @@Ted And His Bryan County Boys Shelton
  26. Kooche Kooche @@Papa Cairo And His Boys
  27. Walkin' the Floor Over You
  28. San Antonio Blues

Album Credits

Customer Reviews