Sweet Soul Music: 1968

Sweet Soul Music: 1968


$22.94 $22.99 Save 0% Current price is $22.94, Original price is $22.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A sequel of sorts to Bear Family's amazing R&B series Blowin' the Fuse -- which covered the growth of R&B from 1945 to 1960 and its evolution into soul -- the Sweet Soul Music series picks things up from there, and charts the unfolding of soul music in all of its incarnations from 1961 to 1970 through ten wonderfully packaged and assembled sets arranged chronologically and drawing on all of the music's major players, from Motown and Chess to Stax and Atlantic and beyond. It's an impressive achievement in licensing and vision, and each volume features Bear Family's usual care and attention to detail, but what makes it all work, of course, is the music, which is as delightful to hear as it is historically vital. This volume covers the year 1968 and includes classics like Smokey Robinson's "I Second That Emotion," Sam & Dave's "I Thank You," Otis Redding's "(Sittin' On) The Dock of the Bay," the Temptations' "Cloud Nine," and so much more. Every track shines and reveals new joys by affiliation -- listening to these 29 sides is like time traveling back to a beautiful summer's night and a long drive with the top down. This is what Bear Family does so well, turning out collections of essential music lovingly assembled, remastered, and restored. Sweet is exactly the right word for each of the ten volumes in this series.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/26/2013
Label: Bear Family Germany
UPC: 4000127169730
catalogNumber: 2716973
Rank: 66003

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Arthur Conley   Composer
Steve Cropper   Composer
Eddie Floyd   Composer
Aretha Franklin   Composer
Otis Redding   Composer
Archie Bell   Composer
Wade Flemons   Composer
Eugene Record   Composer
Barrett Strong   Composer
Nick Ashford   Composer
Marcus Daniel   Composer
Steve Davis   Composer
Charlie Foxx   Composer
Kenny Gamble   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Booker T. Jones   Composer
David Porter   Composer
Sonny Sanders   Composer
Earl Simms   Composer
Valerie Simpson   Composer
Gerald Sims   Composer
Sylvester "Sly Stone" Stewart   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Yvonne Williams   Composer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
William Armstrong   Composer
Brooks O'Dell   Composer
Wayne Pittman   Composer
Clarence Reid   Composer
Dave Booth   Reissue Producer,Tape Research,Discographical Information
Alfred Ellis   Composer
Cliff Thomas   Composer
Billy Buttier   Composer
Philemon Hou   Composer
Wolfgang Taubenauer   Photo Scanning
Willie Clarke   Composer
Alvertis Isbell   Composer
Wilbur Terrell   Composer
Andreas Merck   Photo Scanning
Ted White   Composer
Bob McRee   Composer

Customer Reviews