Sweet Soul Music: 1966

Sweet Soul Music: 1966


$22.94 $22.99 Save 0% Current price is $22.94, Original price is $22.99. You Save 0%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


A sequel of sorts to Bear Family's amazing R&B series Blowin' the Fuse -- which covered the growth of R&B from 1945 to 1960 and its evolution into soul -- the Sweet Soul Music series picks things up from there, and charts the unfolding of soul music in all of its incarnations from 1961 to 1970 through ten wonderfully packaged and assembled sets arranged chronologically and drawing on all of the music's major players, from Motown and Chess to Stax and Atlantic and beyond. It's an impressive achievement in licensing and vision, and each volume features Bear Family's usual care and attention to detail, but what makes it all work, of course, is the music, which is as delightful to hear as it is historically vital. This volume covers the year 1966 and includes classics like the Temptations' "Ain't Too Proud to Beg," Marvin Gaye's "Ain't That Peculiar," Sam & Dave's "Hold On! I'm Comin'," the Capitols' "Cool Jerk," and so much more. Every track shines and reveals new joys by affiliation -- listening to these 29 sides is like time traveling back to a beautiful summer's night and a long drive with the top down. This is what Bear Family does so well, turning out collections of essential music lovingly assembled, remastered, and restored. Sweet is exactly the right word for each of the ten volumes in this series.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/01/2009
Label: Bear Family Germany
UPC: 4000127169716
catalogNumber: 2716971
Rank: 69448

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Steve Cropper   Composer
Eddie Floyd   Composer
Edwin Starr   Composer
Joe Tex   Composer
Donnie Elbert   Composer
J.J. Jackson   Composer
Dan Penn   Composer
Lamont Dozier   Composer
Isaac Hayes   Composer
Huey P. Meaux   Composer
Warren "Pete" Moore   Composer
David Porter   Composer
Jerry Ragovoy   Composer
Allen Toussaint   Composer
George David Weiss   Composer
Norman Whitfield   Composer
Stevie Wonder   Composer
Ronnie Lewis   Composer
Pierre Tubbs   Composer
Bill Dahl   Liner Notes
Jesse Bolian   Composer
O.B. McClinton   Composer
Sylvia Moy   Composer
Donald Storball   Composer
Marvin Tarplin   Composer
Lawrence Johnson   Composer
Dave Booth   Reissue Producer,Tape Research,Discographical Information
Lee Diamond   Composer
Robert Rogers   Composer
Calvin Lewis   Composer
Henry Crosby   Composer
Wolfgang Taubenauer   Photo Scanning
Andreas Merck   Photo Scanning

Customer Reviews