Sweet Relief II

Sweet Relief II


View All Available Formats & Editions


Madonna, R.E.M., Live, and Hootie & the Blowfish are among the artists who tackle Athens, GA, singer/songwriter Chesnutt's music on this volume for Sweet Relief, the foundation Victoria Williams established to assist ailing musicians such as herself and Chesnutt, who is paraplegic. Although the hard grunge "Sponge," contributed by hometown friends R.E.M., makes perfect sense, other contributions meet with questionable results. "Guilty by Association" by Madonna and her brother-in-law Joe Henry turns a dark ballad into a semi-orchestrated piece. Nanci Griffith and Darius Rucker's "Gravity of the Situation" is bland. But fans of quirky singer Mary Margaret O'Hara will be enthralled by her spare "Florida," and the Chesnutt/Williams collaboration "God Is Good" closes the set on a hope-filled note; it's the best of the 14 tracks.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/06/1996
Label: Sony
UPC: 0074646757321
catalogNumber: 67573

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Nanci Griffith   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Indigo Girls   Track Performer
Smashing Pumpkins   Track Performer
Soul Asylum   Track Performer
Victoria Williams   Electric Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Marc Ribot   Guitar
Vic Chesnutt   Acoustic Guitar,Vocals,Track Performer
Joe Henry   Bass,Guitar,Vocals,Vibes,Track Performer
Live   Track Performer
Cracker   Track Performer
Hugh Marsh   Violin
Kristin Hersh   Track Performer
Hootie & the Blowfish   Track Performer
Carla Azar   Drums
Jon Brion   Vibes,Optigan
Mark Bryan   Mando
Joey Burns   Cello
Sterling Campbell   Drums
Madonna   Vocals,Track Performer
Don Heffington   Drums
James Hooker   Hammond Organ
Doug Lancio   Electric Guitar
Greg Leisz   Pedal Steel Guitar
Michael Lorant   Percussion,Drums
Shirley Manson   Vocals
Steve Marker   Guitar,Sampling,Loops
Patrick McCarthy   Percussion
Don McCollister   Bass,Percussion
Pat McInerney   Percussion
Karl Mueller   Bass
Dave Pirner   Guitar,Vocals
R.E.M.   Track Performer
Amy Ray   Vocals,Slg
Emily Saliers   Guitar,Piano,Vocals
Daniel Shulman   Bass
Bill Taft   Banjo,Cornet
Butch Vig   Drums,Noise,Loops
Red Red Meat   Track Performer
Garbage   Track Performer
John Convertino   Drums,Vibes
Duke Erikson   Guitar,Keyboards
Rusty McCarthy   Bass,Guitar
Mary Margaret O'Hara   Track Performer
Sparklehorse   Track Performer
Dog's Eye View   Track Performer
Tina W. Chesnutt   Bass
Dan Murphy   Guitar,Vocals
Darius Rucker   Vocals
Joey Huffington   Keyboards
Jim Sonefeld   Drums
Dean Felber   Bass
Blue Moon Orchestra   Track Performer
M2OH   Voices

Technical Credits

Indigo Girls   Producer
Soul Asylum   Producer
Joe Henry   Producer,Engineer
Kristin Hersh   Producer
Tom Lord-Alge   Engineer
Billy Bizeau   Engineer
Mark Bryan   Contributor
Joe Chiccarelli   Producer
Alex Coletti   Producer
Billy Corgan   Producer
Don Gehman   Engineer
John Harris   Engineer
Richard Hasal   Producer,Engineer
Mark Linkous   Producer,Engineer
Scott Litt   Producer,Contributor
Patrick McCarthy   Producer,Engineer
Don McCollister   Producer,Engineer
Jeff Moleski   Engineer
Bill O'Connell   Producer
R.E.M.   Producer
Tim Rutili   Producer
Greg Sowders   Executive Producer
Jeff Tomei   Engineer
Butch Vig   Contributor
John Morand   Producer,Engineer
Garbage   Producer,Engineer
Rusty McCarthy   Engineer
Mary Margaret O'Hara   Producer,Engineer
Steve Rizzo   Engineer
Doug Trantow   Engineer
Robbie Cavolina   Art Direction
Fred Drake   Engineer
Jill Carnes   Illustrations
Kevin Scott   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews