Sweet Creep

Sweet Creep

by Jonny Fritz


$10.12 $11.99 Save 16% Current price is $10.12, Original price is $11.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, January 31
4 New & Used Starting at $10.72


Jonny Fritz clearly loves country music, but he would rather mess around with it than play it straight. And while he's stopped calling himself Jonny Corndawg (the sort of stage name Robbie Fulks was probably imagining when he wrote "Roots Rock Weirdoes"), Fritz still seems determined to wave his freak flag, playing his eccentricities for all they're worth. Fritz's fourth album (and second under his own name), 2016's Sweet Creep, is clearly the work of a guy who want to go out of his way to show you how off the wall he is; the arrangements are frequently off-kilter, pieced together from drum samples, outdated synthesizer patches, and the bellow of cheap guitars, and one would guess the album was recorded in someone's bathroom if Fritz didn't reveal in the liner notes that most of it was actually cut in someone's backyard. But Fritz does have two big things going for him: he's a great songwriter, and for all his mannerisms, he knows how to get those songs across. When Fritz is going for laughs, he can come pretty close to the level of classic Roger Miller or Shel Silverstein ("I Love Leaving" and "Fifteen Passenger Van"), and when he gets serious, his tales of drying out ("Are You Thirsty"), emotionally broken women ("Cries After Making Love"), a touring musician's lot ("Forever Whatever"), and lonely dogs and the folks who adopt them ("Chihuahua Rescue") come from the heart and make him sound like the right kind of eccentric, one who knows something about human nature. And Fritz's voice isn't a traditionally great instrument, but his no-frills singing is a good match for his songs about life along the highway. The album's deliberately murky tone (courtesy of Taylor Goldsmith and Jim James) doesn't always help, but in spite of its sometimes gimmicky tone, Sweet Creep is evidence that Jonny Fritz is a genuine talent and a first-rate songwriter, and with luck, he'll let his guard down some time and let us hear him without his persona getting in the way.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/14/2016
Label: Ato Records
UPC: 0880882270520
catalogNumber: 227052
Rank: 254004

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Jonny Fritz   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Vocals
Jenny O   Vocals
Jim James   Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Taylor Goldsmith   Bass,Electric Guitar,Keyboards,Background Vocals,Classical Guitar,Guitar (Baritone)
Griffin Goldsmith   Percussion,Drums,Background Vocals
Josh Hedley   Fiddle,Vocals,Background Vocals
Leslie Stevens   Vocals

Technical Credits

Skylar Wilson   Composer
Jim James   Producer
Robin C. Hendrickson   Layout
Jordan Lehning   Composer
Griffin Goldsmith   drum machine
Jimmy Cousins   Composer
Robert Ellis   Composer
Jonny Fritz   Composer,Art Direction
Isaak Opatz   Composer
Stevie Kasm Sand   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews