Suttree (en español)
Suttree (en español)

Suttree (en español)

Hardcover(Spanish-language Edition)

View All Available Formats & Editions


By the author of Blood Meridian and All the Pretty Horses, Suttree is the story of Cornelius Suttree, who has forsaken a life of privilege with his prominent family to live in a dilapidated houseboat on the Tennessee River near Knoxville.  Remaining on the margins of the outcast community there--a brilliantly imagined collection of eccentrics, criminals, and squatters--he rises above the physical and human squalor with detachment, humor, and dignity.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9788439721512
Publisher: Random House Mondadori
Publication date: 05/01/2008
Edition description: Spanish-language Edition
Product dimensions: 6.50(w) x 1.50(h) x 9.50(d)

About the Author

Cormac McCarthy was born in Rhode Island in1933 and spent most of his childhood near Knoxville, Tennessee. He served in the U.S. Air Force and later studied at the University of Tennessee. In 1976 he moved to El Paso, Texas, where he lives today.  McCarthy's fiction parallels his movement from the Southeast to the West--the first four novels being set in Tennessee, the last three in the Southwest and Mexico. The Orchard Keeper (1965) won the Faulkner Award for a first novel; it was followed by Outer Dark (1968),  Child of God (1973), Suttree (1979), Blood Meridian (1985), All the Pretty Horses, which won both the National Book Critics Circle Award and the National Book Award for fiction in 1992, and The Crossing.

What People are Saying About This

Stanley Booth

Suttree may be [McCarthy's] magnum opus…[It is] probably the funniest and most unbearably sad of [his] books…which seemed to me unsurpassed in American literature.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews