Sun Midnight Sun

Sun Midnight Sun

by Sara WatkinsSara Watkins


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27


Sara Watkins throws a bone to her old Nickel Creek fans by opening up Sun Midnight Sun with "The Foothills," one of the album's two instrumental numbers. It's a zippy bluegrass tune, driven forward by Watkins' furious fiddle playing, and it's the closest she ever comes to the rustic sound of her former band. Watkins doesn't completely forsake the farm for the city on this solo release, but she does stretch her arms quite a bit, pulling in everything from quirky indie pop to West Coast folk-rock to harmony-drenched Americana. She nets a few big-name collaborators, too, with people like Jackson Browne, Benmont Tench, and Fiona Apple (who lays down some deep harmonies on a galloping, spaghetti western version of the Everly Brothers' "You're the One I Love") stopping by for a song or two. This is clearly the Sara Watkins show, though, even when she relies on producer Blake Mills to help her co-write the album's best tunes, and she's never sounded better as a singer. She croons like a country star on "Be There," a sad-eyed, twangy duet whose guitar riff pays tribute to Cyndi Lauper's "Time After Time," and chastises a reluctant lover with a sharp, flirty coo on "When It Pleases You." The rest of Sun Midnight Sun bounces between pastoral folk and big-city pop
ock, often blurring the lines between the two, and the album comes full circle with its closer, "Take Up Your Spade," a campfire singalong that roughly approximates Watkins' more acoustic beginnings. It's not as polished as the other tracks, but it's a helpful reminder that even when you strip back the eccentric arrangements and lush production, Watkins can still deliver.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/08/2012
Label: Nonesuch
UPC: 0075597962048
catalogNumber: 530684
Rank: 71439


  1. The Foothills
  2. You and Me
  3. You're the One I Love
  4. When It Pleases You
  5. Be There
  6. I'm a Memory
  7. Impossible
  8. The Accord
  9. Lock & Key
  10. Take Up Your Spade

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Sara Watkins   Primary Artist,Strings,Vocals
Jackson Browne   Vocal Harmony
Benmont Tench   Keyboards
Fiona Apple   Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Sean Watkins   Guitar,Vocal Harmony
Taylor Goldsmith   Vocal Harmony
Blake Mills   Various,Vocal Harmony

Technical Credits

Willie Nelson   Composer
Felice Bryant   Composer
Boudleaux Bryant   Composer
Dan Wilson   Composer
Sara Watkins   Composer
Sean Watkins   Composer
Blake Mills   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Shawn Everett   Engineer
Jenny Anne Mannan   Composer

Customer Reviews