by Herb Alpert & the Tijuana BrassHerb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass


$12.64 $12.99 Save 3% Current price is $12.64, Original price is $12.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, August 4


Though Herb Alpert was technically taking a sabbatical from music in the early 1970s, he wasn't entirely inactive, recording in dribs and drabs. So A&M assembled this brief collection of singles and stray cuts in the summer of 1971; it went nowhere on the charts but added some pleasing entries to the Alpert discography. The two best cuts, taken from a 1970 single, are as good as anything from the Tijuana Brass' heyday, with Alpert's own haunting tone poem "Jerusalem" and a great, strutting arrangement of "Strike Up the Band." The title track, with a dual vocal by Alpert and his wife Lani Hall, is also intriguing, drawing inspiration from the famous Miles Davis/Gil Evans version, while Alpert pulls off a really good jazz trumpet solo on "The Nicest Things Happen." Otherwise, most of the tracks on this LP lack energy, and even vigorous arrangements like that of the Beach Boys' "Darlin'" drift off distractedly into the ozone. Clearly, Alpert wasn't quite ready to re-emerge full-blown into the performing world.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/09/2016
Label: Herb Alpert Presents
UPC: 0814647020594
catalogNumber: 702059
Rank: 26330


  1. Hurts So Bad
  2. Jerusalem
  3. Martha My Dear
  4. If You Could Read My Mind
  5. Darlin'
  6. Summertime
  7. The Nicest Things Happen
  8. Montezuma's Revenge
  9. Catch a Falling Star
  10. Strike Up the Band

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Herb Alpert & the Tijuana Brass   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

George Gershwin   Composer
Gordon Lightfoot   Composer
Herb Alpert   Arranger,Composer,Producer
John Lennon   Composer
Paul McCartney   Composer
Brian Wilson   Composer
Julius Wechter   Composer
Mike Love   Composer
Teddy Randazzo   Composer
Ira Gershwin   Composer
Bobby Hart   Composer
Sol Lake   Composer
Larry Levine   Engineer
Jerry Moss   Producer
Paul Vance   Composer
Lee Pockriss   Composer
Roland Young   Art Direction
DuBose Heyward   Composer
Cissy Wechter   Composer
Bobby Wilding   Composer
Brian Porizek   Cover Art

Customer Reviews