Suitable for Framing [Bonus Tracks]

Suitable for Framing [Bonus Tracks]

by Three Dog NightThree Dog Night

CD(Bonus Tracks)

$11.89 $14.99 Save 21% Current price is $11.89, Original price is $14.99. You Save 21%.
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Suitable for Framing followed Three Dog Night's debut disc by only a few months, sharing the charts with its predecessor for a while. This second release contained two Top Ten chartmakers: "Easy to Be Hard" from the rock musical Hair, and "Eli's Coming," written by quirky songwriter Laura Nyro (who also wrote "And When I Die," a hit for Blood, Sweat & Tears the same year). It also introduced the songwriting team of Elton John and Bernie Taupin to American audiences with a version of "Lady Samantha," from John's British-only first album release, which provided a hit single for Three Dog Night. Another popular song from this album was the classic "Celebrate," with its blaring horn lines and easily sung "Celebrate, celebrate, dance to the music" chorus and coda. Suitable for Framing also included a soulful take on Sam Cooke's "A Change Is Gonna Come," and provided the first popular cover version of Dave Mason's soon-to-be-oft-recorded "Feeling Alright." Although the hit singles were plentiful, the album only reached number 16, showing the gap between the singles-buying audience and those who purchased albums. Nonetheless, Suitable for Framing confirmed the group's musical strength with the AM radio audience while appealing to more "hip" listeners as well. [A 2014 CD release added bonus tracks.]

Product Details

Release Date: 11/04/2014
Label: Iconoclassic
UPC: 0602537161065
catalogNumber: 1037
Rank: 16210

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Three Dog Night   Primary Artist
Cory Wells   Group Member
Mike Allsup   Guitar
Jimmy Greenspoon   Keyboards
Danny Hutton   Group Member
Lee Loughnane   Horn
Chuck Negron   Group Member
James Pankow   Horn
Walter Parazaider   Horn
Joe Schermie   Bass
Floyd Sneed   Drums

Technical Credits

Sam Cooke   Songwriter,Contribution
Elton John   Songwriter,Contribution
Laura Nyro   Songwriter,Contribution
Traffic   Songwriter,Contribution
Cory Wells   Composer
Bill Cooper   Engineer
Danny Hutton   Composer
Gabriel Mekler   Producer
Paul Myers   Liner Notes
Chuck Negron   Composer
Richard Podolor   Engineer
Floyd Sneed   Composer
Bernie Taupin   Songwriter,Contribution
Chris Eselgroth   Reissue Design
Wayne Kimbell   Art Direction
Frank Ursoleo   Reissue Producer

Customer Reviews