by G. Love & Special SauceG. Love & Special Sauce


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


In honor of the group's 20th anniversary, the original trio lineup of G. Love & Special Sauce reunited and recorded 2014's Sugar. The band's second album for Jack Johnson's Brushfire Records, Sugar harks back to G. Love & Special Sauce's early lo-fi blues, rap, and soul-influenced sound. Once again featuring the lead vocals and guitar of Garrett Dutton aka G. Love, bassist Jimi "Jazz" Prescott, and drummer Jeffrey "Houseman" Clemens, Sugar was produced by Los Angeles' Robert Carranza. Carranza, who has previously worked with such eclectic acts as Ozomatli, Jack Johnson, Matt Costa, and Los Fabulosos Cadillacs, has a knack for capturing a band's live, organic aesthetic, and Sugar is no exception. Together, G. Love and Carranza have crafted an earthy, tasty album that features some of the best songs the trio have ever recorded. There are a few special guests this time out, with Ben Harper and Marc Broussard adding backing vocals to "Nothing Else Quite Like Home," and trumpeter/vocalist Shamarr Allen helps spice up "Weekend Dance #2." Similarly, vocalist Kristy Lee (who appeared in the acclaimed backup singer documentary 20 Feet from Stardom) duets with G. Love on the soulful, old-school R&B number "One Night Romance." However, guest artists aside, the focal point on Sugar is the original trio and the distinctive energy, sound, and musical magic they've produced since their self-titled debut in 1994. Ultimately, whether it's the Southern funk of the title track or the roiling go-go blues of "Saturday Night," as with all of G. Love & Special Sauce's best recordings, the songs on Sugar just stick in your ears.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/22/2014
Label: Brushfire Records
UPC: 0602537732791
catalogNumber: 002044002
Rank: 133594

Album Credits

Performance Credits

G. Love & Special Sauce   Primary Artist
Merry Clayton   Vocals,Background Vocals
Ben Harper   Background Vocals
David Hidalgo   Guitar,Violin
G. Love   Guitar,Harp,Vocals
Eric Krasno   Guitar
Shamarr Allen   Horn,Vocals
Kristy Lee   Background Vocals
Jeffrey Clemens 'The Houseman'   Drums,Background Vocals
Jim Prescott   Standup Bass

Technical Credits

John Lee Hooker   Composer
Dan Reynolds   Composer
Jasper Thomas   Composer
Jeff Trott   Composer
Robert Carranza   Producer,Engineer,Vocal Producer
Paul Simm   Composer
Ryan Hadlock   Vocal Producer
Mark Boyce   Composer
Eric Krasno   Composer
Sam Hollander   Composer
Adam Deitch   Composer
Shamarr Allen   Composer
Matt Costa   Composer
Dave Lively   Cover Photo
Kristy Lee   Composer
Garrett Dutton   Composer
Emmett Malloy   Inside Photo
Jerry Streeter   Engineer

Customer Reviews