Suffering From Success

Suffering From Success

by DJ KhaledDJ Khaled


Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


Those who would accuse DJ Khaled of using an overly audacious album title for this seventh studio effort are quickly schooled once "Obama [Winning More Interlude]" hits the speakers. On the opening cut, real world audio of a national news broadcast finds America's 44th President entering an auditorium to the traditional "Hail to the Chief," but the music quickly switches to Khaled's platinum single "All I Do Is Win." In true Presidential style, Obama steps on the song's hook, asking the audience "How do you like my new entrance music?" and they go wild, because Khaled won the popular vote for the United States' hypeman-in-chief, plus he's the czar of mainstream hip-hop compilations that just happen to be filled with new tracks. Suffering from Success is more of the glorious same, as Khaled continues to win, win, win no matter what, filling hooky highlights like "No New Friends" with high power guest stars, which in this track's case, means the billion dollar trio of Drake, Lil Wayne, and Rick Ross. Canadian hitmaker Boi-1da helms the cut while big-time producers like J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League (creating well-funded mayhem with Future, Ace Hood, and Plies on "Blackball") and Timbaland (who also raps on the hard-hitting, mega-posse cut "You Don't Want These Problems") make sure the beats are what's poppin' in 2013, while folks like Meek Mill (clever and cool on "I Feel Like Pac/I Feel Like Biggie") and Mavado (offering dancehall vibes and sweet nothings to Nicki Minaj on the great "Give It All to Me") help round out a lightweight album that's otherwise big pimping and bottle service. Khaled does his usual cheerleading and gets some production credits himself, but the real trick he pulls off is inspiring all these artists to somehow save up all these high-grade club tracks and singles for the DJ's annual dispatch. Suffering from Success, once again.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/22/2013
Label: Republic
UPC: 0602537586264
catalogNumber: 001947502
Rank: 61507

Album Credits

Performance Credits

DJ Khaled   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Dr. Dre   Producer
Timbaland   Producer
Jim Caruana   Engineer
Antonio Jimenez   Engineer
Tim Mosley   Composer
Bryan Williams   Composer,Executive Producer
LVM   Producer,Additional Production
Lenny Mollings   Composer
DJ Nasty   Producer,Additional Production
DJ Khaled   Producer
Ariel Chobaz   Engineer
Eldwardo "Eddie Mix" Hernandez   Engineer
Chris Brown   Composer
Rob Kinelski   Engineer
J.U.S.T.I.C.E. League   Producer
Ben Diehl   Engineer
Cool   Producer
Fareed Salamah   Engineer
Khaled Khaled   Composer,Executive Producer
Finis "KY" White   Engineer
Kevin Cossom   Composer
Johnny Mollings   Composer
Noah Shebib   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Aubrey "Drake" Graham   Composer
Canei Finch   Additional Music
Streetrunner   Producer
Dwayne Carter   Composer,Executive Producer
Clifford Harris   Composer
Boi-1DA   Producer
Ronald "Slim Tha Don" Williams   Composer,Executive Producer
William Roberts   Composer
Algernod Washington   Composer
Inderan K. Bailey   Engineer
Onika Maraj   Composer
Matthew Samuels   Composer
Elliot Carter   Engineer
Erik Ortiz   Composer
David Brooks   Composer
Kevin Crowe   Composer
Antoine McColister   Composer
Sean Anderson   Composer
Justus Arison   Engineer
Beat Bully   Producer
Karim Kharbouch   Composer
Nayvadius Wilburn   Composer
Tauheed Epps   Composer
Young Chop   Producer
Tyree Pittman   Composer
Anthony Lee Norris   Composer
Colin Fichman   Engineer
Anderson Hernandez   Composer
Allen Ritter   Composer,Additional Production
Vinylz   Additional Production
Lee On the Beats   Producer
Bobby Yewah   Producer
Stephan Townsend   Engineer
Rugah Rahj   Producer
Michael "Banger" Canadia   Engineer
Anthony Cruz   Engineer

Customer Reviews