Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature

Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature


View All Available Formats & Editions
Members save with free shipping everyday! 
See details


C. S. Lewis's Studies in Medieval and Renaissance Literature is a collection of fourteen fascinating essays, half of which were never published in Lewis's lifetime. The first three provide a general introduction to medieval literature whilst the remaining essays turn to the works of major writers such as Dante (The Divine Comedy), Malory (Le Morte d'Arthur), Spenser (The Faerie Queene) and Milton (Comus). Lewis's insightful yet accessible writing will captivate anyone with an interest in medieval and Renaissance literature.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781107658929
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Publication date: 11/07/2013
Series: Canto Classics
Pages: 208
Sales rank: 578,696
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.50(d)

About the Author

C.S. Lewis (1898-1963) was a British novelist, poet, academic, medievalist, literary critic, essayist, theologian, broadcaster, and lecturer. He is best known for his fictional works, including The Screwtape Letters, The Space Trilogy, and The Chronicles of Narnia. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe, the second book in the seven-book Narnia series, often tops must-read lists of classic children's literature; the series has been adapted for film, radio, TV, and the stage.

Date of Birth:

November 29, 1898

Date of Death:

November 22, 1963

Place of Birth:

Belfast, Nothern Ireland

Place of Death:

Headington, England


Oxford University 1917-1923; Elected fellow of Magdalen College, Oxford in 1925

Table of Contents

Preface Walter Hooper; 1. De Audiendis Poetis; 2. The genesis of a medieval book; 3. Imagination and thought in the Middle Ages; 4. Dante's similes; 5. Imagery in the last eleven cantos of Dante's Comedy; 6. Dante's statius; 7. The Morte d'Arthur; 8. Tasso; 9. Edmund Spenser, 1552–99; 10. On reading The Faerie Queene; 11. Neoplatonism in the poetry of Spenser; 12. Spenser's cruel Cupid; 13. Genius and genius; 14. A note on Comus; Additional editorial notes; Index.

Customer Reviews