Strictly Ann: The Autobiography

Strictly Ann: The Autobiography

by Ann Widdecombe


View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days
12 New & Used Starting at $3.03


Forthright memoirs of a singular personality - former MP and Strictly Come Dancing star, Ann Widdecombe.

In this life story of one of our most outspoken and celebrated politicians, Ann Widdecombe offers a unique insight into her time as a minister in three government departments and the Shadow Cabinet in the 1990s, as well as taking us back to her wandering childhood and explaining the roots of her deeply held views.

A rare anti-hunting Tory, who campaigned for prison education and once donned a miner's overalls to go down a coal mine, Ann Widdecombe has never shied away from controversy. Her memoirs reveal a singular personality who lives life to the full. From feisty appearances on Have I Got News for You to her unforgettable and star-turning performances on Strictly Come Dancing, Ann has earned her place in the public's affections and has been heralded as a 'national living treasure' by the Guardian.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781780220925
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group, Limited
Publication date: 09/01/2014
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 464
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.70(h) x 3.80(d)

About the Author

For many years a forthright and high-profile MP, Ann Widdecombe is now as well-known for her star appearances on STRICTLY COME DANCING and CELEBRITY BIG BROTHER. A former Prisons Minister, she converted to Roman Catholicism in 1993. Countrywoman, columnist and bestselling author, she lives on Dartmoor.

Find out more at

Table of Contents

Author's Note and Acknowledgements vii

Introduction ix

Chapter 1 Arriving (1) 1

Chapter 2 Empire's Children 14

Chapter 3 Growing Up 28

Chapter 4 Convent Girl 42

Chapter 5 Redbrick 58

Chapter 6 Gleaming Spires 70

Chapter 7 The Soapmakers 83

Chapter 8 The Aspiring Carpetbagger 96

Chapter 9 Candidate 110

Chapter 10 A Campaign and an Interlude 124

Chapter 11 Devonport 137

Chapter 12 Silly Burghers 145

Chapter 13 Arriving (2) 159

Chapter 14 What Do We Pay Them For? 173

Chapter 15 From Rebel to Minister 188

Chapter 16 PUSS, PUSS 201

Chapter 17 Pensions Minister 222

Chapter 18 Pope or Pensioners? 236

Chapter 19 From PUSS to MoS 253

Chapter 20 Dreams and Nightmares 273

Chapter 21 Enter Doris Karloff 294

Chapter 22 Something of the Night 315

Chapter 23 Hague's Lieutenant 329

Chapter 24 Civil War 350

Chapter 25 Weed and Flying Mats 362

Chapter 26 Departing (1) 373

Chapter 27 Getting a Life 388

Chapter 28 Departing (2) 406

Chapter 29 Summer 2010 417

Chapter 30 Strictly Fun 424

Index 441

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews