by AviciiAvicii


$16.66 $17.99 Save 7% Current price is $16.66, Original price is $17.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, June 18


Swedish DJ Avicii is a strange case. In 2011, he broke through with "Levels," a bleepy and bright bit of EDM that could have been his signature hit, but then his 2013 album, True, was a country-pop and folk-inspired affair that thrilled his fans with its inventiveness, but left others as cold as a meandering Mumford & Sons remix effort. Two years later, his LP Stories is another genre-busting affair that fits in better with mainstream radio than it does the club, but everything iffy about True has been perfected here, as the producer revisits the song-oriented album and lets the outside genres freely come and go. Country-pop is back in EDM remix form when "Broken Arrows" offers a spirited Zac Brown song with Avicii pumping it higher during the whirlwind bridge, but "Pure Grinding" is a highlight that would have never fit on True, and it lives up to its claim to be "funktronica" with double-dutch lyrics and '70s electro in support. "Touch Me" is a bell-bottomed delight that owes a debt to the disco movement, specifically Chic, and if the strange "City Lights" is the album's most arguable track, fans of Meco and Giorgio Moroder could argue it's spot-on with its robot vocals and tiny melody. "Talk to Myself," with Sterling Fox, steps into the '80s with a modern version of Matthew Wilder's "Break My Stride," and the rest of the prime moments come from the mainstream pop side of the spectrum, with the Martin Garrix and Simon Aldred (Cherry Ghost) feature "Waiting for Love" leading the pack. "Can't Catch Me," with Matisyahu and Wyclef Jean, is reggae, but the kind that Michael Franti and Radio Margaritaville can agree on, while "For a Better Day" is the same kind of electro and soul that Moby took to the top of the charts. Complaints that this isn't a dance album and doesn't sound like "Levels" may still be filed, but they're better applied to True. The pleasing, alive, and diverse Stories is a fine reason to think of Avicii as a producer of attractive music, with EDM, pop, and all other genres on a sliding scale.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/02/2015
Label: Island
UPC: 0602547482778
catalogNumber: 002402402
Rank: 65293


  1. Waiting for Love
  2. Talk to Myself
  3. Touch Me
  4. Ten More Days
  5. For a Better Day
  6. Broken Arrows
  7. True Believer
  8. City Lights
  9. Pure Grinding
  10. Sunset Jesus
  11. Can't Catch Me
  12. Somewhere in Stockholm
  13. Trouble
  14. Gonna Love Ya

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Avicii   Primary Artist
Wyclef Jean   Vocals
Wayne Hector   Vocals
Chris Martin   Piano,Background Vocals
Alex Ebert   Vocals
Matisyahu   Vocals
Zac Brown   Vocals
Simon Aldred   Vocals
Daniel Adams-Ray   Vocals
Noonie Bao   Vocals
Kristoffer Fogelmark   Vocals
Jonas Wallin   Vocals
Sterling Fox   Vocals
Sandro Cavazza   Vocals
Zak Abel   Vocals
Earl St. Clair   Vocals
Celeste Waite   Vocals

Technical Credits

Mike Posner   Composer
Wyclef Jean   Composer
Mike Einziger   Composer
Wayne Hector   Composer
Dhani Lennevald   Composer,Producer,Additional Production
Gavin DeGraw   Composer
Henrik Jonback   Composer
Alex Ebert   Composer,Additional Production
Zac Brown   Composer
Alex Drury   Composer
Rami Yacoub   Composer
Simon Aldred   Composer
Savan Kotecha   Composer
Vincent Pontare   Composer,Vocal Producer
Gerard O'Connell   Composer
Salem al Fakir   Composer,Vocal Producer
Carl Falk   Composer,Producer
Matthew Miller   Composer
Tim Bergling   Composer,Producer
Albin Nedler   Composer,Producer
Ash Pournouri   Composer,Producer,Executive Producer
Earl Johnson   Composer
Daniel Adams-Ray   Composer
Noonie Bao   Composer
Petter Tarland   Composer
Kristoffer Fogelmark   Composer,Producer
Jonas Wallin   Composer
Martin Garrix   Composer
Sterling Fox   Composer
Sandro Cavazza   Composer
Adriano Buffone   Composer,Vocal Producer
Niko Moon   Composer
Matt Hartke   Composer
Earl St. Clair   Composer
Marcus Thunberg Wessel   Composer
Celeste Waite   Composer
Zak Zilesnick   Composer

Customer Reviews