Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Stomp! The Blues Tonight

Stomp! The Blues Tonight

Stomp! The Blues Tonight

Stomp! The Blues Tonight


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, March 24


Since joining the Stony Plain roster in 1993, Duke Robillard has released an average of one album per year with the Canadian roots and blues label, and his sixteenth is a little bit of a departure: where his previous efforts have focused mainly on jazz and blues, this one is a celebration of the jump blues and R&B of the '40s and '50s, and Robillard sounds just as natural and is clearly having just as good a time with this repertoire as he always has on his previous projects. Highlights include a wonderful jump blues instrumental arrangement of the traditional song "Frankie and Johnny," an equally great vocal duet between Robillard and Sunny Crownover on "I Wanna Hug You, Kiss You, Squeeze You" and an absolutely brilliant rendition of the Ike Turner R&B classic "Tore Up." Slightly less essential is a rather mannered take on the old Wynonie Harris song "Playful Baby," on which Robillard sounds like he's trying to channel Harris rather than interpret the song on his own, but everything else here is really top-notch -- and part of what makes it great is that Robillard (an excellent guitarist but only a good singer) has the good sense to step aside several times to make room for the much more exciting vocals of Sunny Crownover. And on several of the album's best tracks, no one is singing at all.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2009
Label: Stony Plain Music
UPC: 0772532134224
catalogNumber: 321342
Rank: 116286


  1. Stomp the Blues Tonight
  2. Do Me Right
  3. Three Hours Past Midnight
  4. Baby You Don't Know
  5. I Wanna Hug You, Kiss You, Squeeze You
  6. Frankie and Johnny
  7. Look But Don't Touch
  8. Playful Baby
  9. Million Dollar Secret
  10. Jumpin' the Bone
  11. Hands Off!
  12. Money's Gettin' Cheaper
  13. For You My Love
  14. Tore Up
  15. Ain't Nobody's Business
  16. Early in the Morning

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Duke Robillard   Primary Artist,Guitar,Electric Bass,Bass Guitar,Vocals
Marty Ballou   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Basile   Cornet
Doug James   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Rich Lataille   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Carl Querfurth   Trombone
Bruce Bears   Piano
Jon Ross   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass
Mark Teixeira   Drums
Sunny Crownover   Vocals
Jon Ross   Electric Bass,Acoustic Bass

Technical Credits

Lowell Fulson   Composer
Paul Gayten   Composer
Wynonie Harris   Composer
Roy Milton   Composer
Duke Robillard   Arranger,Composer,Producer,Liner Notes,Audio Production
Helen Humes   Composer
Jay McShann   Composer
Ralph Bass   Composer
Priscilla Bowman   Composer
John Paul Gauthier   Management
Porter Grainger   Composer
Ike Turner   Composer
Doug James   Composer
Holger Petersen   Executive Producer
Johnny "Guitar" Watson   Composer
Clarence Williams   Composer
Jimmy Witherspoon   Composer
Dootsie Williams   Composer
Jessie Mae Robinson   Composer
Sam Ling   Composer
Traditional   Composer
Thom Hiller   Engineer
Robert Graham Prince   Composer
Sunny Crownover   Composer
Claudia Swan   Composer
Holger Peterson   Audio Production
Buddy Griffin   Composer

Customer Reviews