by Charles EarlandCharles Earland


$17.38 $17.99 Save 3% Current price is $17.38, Original price is $17.99. You Save 3%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 28


Recorded six months before organist Charles Earland's death, this date finds "the Mighty Burner" still in excellent form. Although many of the titles (six of which are Earland originals) performed by his group refer to religion, the music swings in a hard-charging secular way, with only "Stomp!" having some spoken word by Earland. The organist sounds as powerful as always, both Eric Alexander and Michael Karn have some fine tenor solos, and there are also spots for trumpeter James Rotondi and guitarist Bill Boris, with drummer Greg Rockingham swinging steadily in support. This set is easily recommended to soul jazz/hard bop collectors, as are virtually all of Charles Earland's recordings.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/29/2000
Label: Highnote
UPC: 0632375703721
catalogNumber: 757037
Rank: 131050


  1. Time of My Life
  2. All the Man That I Need
  3. He Is My Shepherd
  4. Prevaricator
  5. The Count Is in the House
  6. Stomp!
  7. The Creation
  8. Transfiguration
  9. Thanksgiving

Album Credits

Customer Reviews